1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Problem with rear-facing camera

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PiperCub49, May 13, 2012.

  1. PiperCub49

    PiperCub49 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    96
    3
    36
    New England
    I have been having trouble with my front-facing camera for a few months now. Basically, it doesn't work. I can open my rear-facing camera, but switching to the front camera results in a black screen. I am rooted, so maybe I could utilize that to fix the problem. Does anyone have a suggestion?

    Thanks,
    Kody
     

    Advertisement

  2. redsox985

    redsox985 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    537
    71
    78
    What all have you done to the phone with root access?
     
  3. PiperCub49

    PiperCub49 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    96
    3
    36
    New England
    First off, thanks for the quick response.

    I haven't done much. I just froze some of the approved bloatware.
     
  4. redsox985

    redsox985 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    537
    71
    78
    From the above listed thread? If so, I would guess you either have a haywire app or a hardware issue. If it's hardware, you'd have to return it. If it's a screwy app, it'll just be some troubleshooting to find it.
     
  5. PiperCub49

    PiperCub49 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    96
    3
    36
    New England
    I suppose that I could do a backup and a factory reset and then see if the camera works. If it doesn't, then it couldn't be an application. If that was the case, it would be a hardware issue, which Verizon should help take care of.
     
  6. redsox985

    redsox985 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    537
    71
    78
    I would say to make a nand backup, SBF the phone, update to 906, and test. If this doesn't fix it, then root and restore your backup. If it fixes it, restore app by app (so painfully slow) to see what screws it up.
     
  7. glennj

    glennj Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    129
    24
    38

    If he if updated to 906, can he still restore a nand backup made under 890? If so, would he then be back to 890?
    I guess I don't understand what a nand backup contains. I thought it was a whole phone image including the boot loader, the recovery, the radio and the memory contents, like apps and media files.

    I thought there was no way at all back 890 once 906 was flashed. That's why I have been holding off...

    Glenn
     
  8. redsox985

    redsox985 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    537
    71
    78
    That's a good catch. I wasn't thinking too much there. You can't get back to 890 from 906 currently, from what I understand. A nand contains /system /cache /data IIRC. It may contain /systemorig if it was made through Safestrap.

    Let me revise what I said earlier. I would...

    Make a Nand and TiBu backup
    SBF/FXZ to 5.6.890
    See if this fixes it
    If not, download the 906 OTA
    See if this fixes it
    If not, send it back to get a replacement for hardware issues
    Get new phone and restore data from TiBu (nand if replacement has 890)
     

Share This Page

Loading...