1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

problem with regular browser & dolphin browser

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by diddiyo, Feb 24, 2010.

  1. diddiyo

    diddiyo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    48
    0
    15
    hi,

    i've been having a weird problem lately. whenever i open a webpage in the normal browser and click on a link, it opens up dolphin browser and opens the page in there. any idea why? I'd like to continue using the normal browser and dolphin just as a backup.

    thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DjSmooth

    DjSmooth Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    109
    0
    55
    Transportation
    NYC
    If at anytime you opted for Dolphin to be your default browser and or have not chose your stock browser to be the default browser; Dolphin (for what reason I'm not sure) assume the position. When this happened to me to resolve the problem I completely uninstalled Dolphin, powered down and removed the Battery for a few seconds. I than reinstalled Dolphin and the issue was over. Just make sure that the first time you open Dolphin uncheck the "make it the default browser"
     
  3. gadzooks

    gadzooks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    179
    20
    58
    bits & bytes
    left coast USA
    I experienced same thing with a different browser & here's what worked for me. Under
    Settings | Applications | Manage Applications
    tap Dolphin & in Launch by default section, tap Clear Defaults.
     
  4. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    If you long press the link it should give browser options and there should be a check box to choose default, if it really is that easy.
     
  5. bobthebob

    bobthebob Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    hasn't worked for me inssane, and i've tried it about 20 times. going to try gadzooks method.
     
  6. bobthebob

    bobthebob Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    worked! finally! thanks gadzooks! you're my hero !
     
  7. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Clear defaults works for any app set as default -- not just browsers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...