1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root problem with rom manager

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rhod, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. rhod

    rhod Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    154
    9
    36
    rooted my phone today.. few clitches during it and had a lot of help from D-U-R-X and el presidente today so thanks to them for that! i have got to the stage of flashing a new rom (s-off etc all done) and have encountered another problem. Before I chose and downloaded the rom i wanted, i saw a few posts about formatting and resetting on the first time flash so i rebooted into recovery and did so. unfortunately now im left with a phone running 2.2 and cant flash! i had to reinstall rom manager after the reset and whatever i do in rom manager is saying its umable to run privileged commands i.e root?!? do i need to downloaded visionary again and repeat the whole process cos i thought i had perm rooted! any ideas??

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    rhod - back a bit quicker than I thought!

    Gutted that it appears that you have lost root, although I'm not sure how!! :thinking:

    You defo downgraded earlier - try installing visionary again and temp/perm rooting! As you've downgraded, I think that's all you should have to do!!

    EDIT - I don't think it can hurt to at least try
     
  3. rhod

    rhod Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    154
    9
    36

    thanks pal. managed to get into the clockworkmod recoery screen by holding down volume and in the process of restoring saved image. will then try cm7 ive got saved on sdcard. otherwise im gonna leave it for tonight as i need the work pc for the visionary stuff so ill let you know if it works tomorrow. nice one
     
  4. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Oh yeah - sh!t... should have thought of that!!!

    EDIT - gotta love clockwork! Saves your bacon!!

    If you've got CM7 on your SD card, I'd go for it... doesn't take too long... you do a wipe, etc and then install all from CWM! :)
     
  5. rhod

    rhod Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    154
    9
    36

    BOOM! sorted it. restored the first image i saved with had super user and visionary on it and then used rom manager to flash cm7. it took less than 2 mins for the whole thing which i find bizarre! cm7 is lush though. prob get bored in a week and try another one.

    can finally enjoy android!!
     
  6. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Sweeeeeeet! :)

    Well... at least it's sorted now!

    Yeah - I think it's quite good too!

    I have had it for 6/8 weeks, so I could give it a fair go... about to change though (to LeeDroid, I think)

    All good mate... glad you got it sorted!!

    EDIT - Android as it should be
    :D
     
  7. sandeep89

    sandeep89 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    54
    4
    16
    cwm recovery has a usb something option too - lets you mount the sd card like it would when inside the rom and plug it into your pc - at this point you can copy over a new rom if you need to and flash it on the spot (as far as im aware, havent tried it myself but have read up about it). helps if you wipe by accident and dont have a rom or backup handy - someone else can verify this though.

    defo does :D
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,884
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,884
    9,212
    1,413
    UK
    Yeah, there's an option to mount USB storage under mounts and storage.
     
  9. sandeep89

    sandeep89 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    54
    4
    16
    thought so. at least theres always a way out if you've screwed up slightly..
     
  10. rhod

    rhod Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    154
    9
    36
    can you create as many backups as you want with rom manager? sorted out cm7 as i want it with all my apps and want to make a backup but already have one backup stored.
     
  11. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    There's nothing to stop you making as many backups as you want. I'd copy them to your computer though... I downloaded "ROM Manager Janitor" from the market (https://market.android.com/details?id=com.Gnathonic.RomJanitor&feature=search_result) and it cleans up any old backups you have - I saved myself loads of space (approx 700mb) which, although not a massive premium on your SD card, is still quite a bit! :)

    EDIT - I'm sure I've read on here that some people back up once a week... I think thata's more for people on nightly builds though!
     

Share This Page

Loading...