1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Problem with the new software update?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dzine2fit, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. dzine2fit

    dzine2fit Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    75
    1
    36
    Customer Support
    WPB
    So that maintenance update that's been rolling out for the Motorola Cliq on T-Mobile? Stay away. Stay far away. Basically it borks the phone pretty good, from keyboard issues to text message issues to time issues to causing your face to break out in hives. (OK, we made that last one up.) In other words, if you haven't installed the update, don't. And if you have installed the update, for frak's sake don't hard-reset your phone. Here's the official word from T-Mobile.
    Thanks everyone for informing us on what the latest Motorola Cliq OTA update has brought to light. We want to let everyone know that we have been reading your comments, and we hear you. We have forwarded your concerns to the appropriate people and are working hard on them.
    As of now, we advise you not to Master Reset your phone if your OTA update did not download or if you are experiencing issues at this time. ​
     

    Advertisement

  2. BORIStheBLADE

    BORIStheBLADE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009

    Sep 15, 2009
    159
    1
    56
    Electrician
    San Jose, CA
    Ya I'm having issues with texting and slacker radio. The phone seems to run really slow and ask me to force quit the apps because they aren't responding.
     
  3. XxMsSuperWomanXx

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    (619) San Diego, CA
    I'm having problems too. My facebook wigets are not responding. I had to remove them and re-sign them back to my phone twice, and its still not working right. It also wont let me answer the slide bar when I get a call and my phone is locked. I just thought it was my phone. How do I fix the problems?
     
  4. XxMsSuperWomanXx

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    (619) San Diego, CA
    Oh, and what's a hard reset?
     
  5. InitialG

    InitialG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    89
    4
    36
    Hyundai Internet Sales
    San Diego, CA
    I don't have problems with my phone with the new update...
     
  6. wormser

    wormser Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    41
    3
    16
    Me too. I haven't had any issues.
     
  7. imabug

    imabug Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    my update went pretty smoothly and haven't had any significant issues aside from a couple of apps disappearing. Some of my settings got reset, like battery mode switching back from Smart to Performance, but nothing major.
     
  8. truoc444

    truoc444 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    46
    2
    36
    Nothing but improved battery life for me.
     
  9. Coltknows

    Coltknows Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    42
    0
    35
    Male
    Acme self check-out attendant
    Freehold, NJ
    Since the update, my gps gets an annoyingone second hiccup in places where it didn't before. There was another issue, but it happened a few days ago and I can't remember.
     
  10. InitialG

    InitialG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    89
    4
    36
    Hyundai Internet Sales
    San Diego, CA
    yeah, you know what? When I did use my GPS, for some reason when I would try to let it locate me it would always show my blue dot somewhere else..like 3 streets over from where I currently was..so that I guess is one problem that I have with the new update. pretty annoying I guess, but it still got me to where I needed to go.
     
  11. Coltknows

    Coltknows Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    42
    0
    35
    Male
    Acme self check-out attendant
    Freehold, NJ
    That blue dot location has always been off, though the navigator still knew exactly where you were.

    Oh, and the other problem I have now is a "ghost finger" effect. The screen prompts you get when you hold your finger on the screen appear at random. Also, the screen likes to slide in odd directions at times. Does anybody else still get the "screen around the world" glitch? Ex: right half of screen appears on the left, yet the cpu assumes normal button location (touch an icon where it is, but the icon activated is what's supposed to be in that spot).
     
  12. InitialG

    InitialG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    89
    4
    36
    Hyundai Internet Sales
    San Diego, CA
    Weird, not for me because before the update the blue dot was always on spot. Not anymore though :(
     
  13. dzine2fit

    dzine2fit Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    75
    1
    36
    Customer Support
    WPB
    Since the update Iv noticed longer battery life, but it closes my running apps, like the happenings is not updating like it used to, pop email isnt synching automatcially every 30 mins like I set it to, pandora closes all the time,weather app has to be refreshed all the time. I mean does the update makes the running apps to quit refreshing to save battery life?? I dont use google maps so I wouldnt know the diffrence of performance.
     
  14. tecfreak

    tecfreak Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    Is it possible to roll the update back. my wife's phone went wonkie the min the new OTA update was installed.
     
  15. Mysta316

    Mysta316 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I lost battery life. My phone is now needing to be recharged half way through the day now. and thats without using the web.
     
  16. imabug

    imabug Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    After the update on my phone, I noticed the Battery Profile setting had reset itself to Performance from Smart mode that I had it set to originally. Maybe yours did the same?
     
  17. Mysta316

    Mysta316 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    nope. still in smart mode.
     

Share This Page

Loading...