• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Problem with wifi and audio

Mysteriis122

Lurker
Nov 7, 2022
Hello everybody,
I bought a Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 3 last year.
Until August 2022 I have never had any problems.
Then now it is not possible to enable wifi and when I open it the audio no longer works.
I called Samsung about the warranty and they told me it's not covered by the warranty for them because it has a small mark
in a corner of the smartphone, absurd.
So since I am an IT and electronic technician and I have already repaired Iphone in the past, I am trying to repair it myself.
Also because to repair it out of warranty they asked me for 600 euro.
I have already opened the back cover and checked the various flex cables.
I wanted to ask you if there was a Fold 3 hardware expert among you, I mean that he knows the various components.
for example for the wifi problem that does not enable what should I look at exactly, does it have its own board or a flex cable that I can replace?
For audio not working when I open it here too maybe it could be a flex cable problem.
I have yet to open the main display to see the other components.
Let me know if there is any expert.
Thanks

Well you can keep trying to fix the problem yourself or pay someone who will attempt to do the same, but it sounds like you should just accept the fact that you did violate the warranty, with intent, so now it's a 'pay to repair' issue.

Just regarding the WiFi problem, how did you determine it's due to hardware and not a software/firmware issue? If it is hardware, how did you determine just what did fail? The antenna? Its connector to the logic board? The WiFi radio chip? Or are you thinking you're just going to replace components one at a time to until WiFi is working again? (....including an entire logic board replacement if the chip is actually the source of the problem)
The same applies to the audio problem.

Upvote 0