1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problems after flashing CNA...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JTAKER, May 1, 2012.

  1. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    So, I flashed this rom tonight...And now my phone won't turn on...At all. Any ideas? =/
     

    Advertisement

  2. rukin5197

    rukin5197 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Try reflashing?
     
  3. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    How would I go about doing that if my phone won't even turn on? =/
     
  4. calitrippin

    calitrippin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012

    Feb 12, 2012
    132
    32
    43
    Male
    San Diego, Ca
    Did you try pulling the battery waiting a little bit then trying again?
     
  5. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    Yeap. The phone is bricked. Which sucks, 'cause it's my only phone for now. =/

    What happened was I flashed the rom, it was working fine; I was able to start it up and use it, but Wi-fi wasn't working correctly, so I figured I could just reboot it and it'd be fine. So I turn it off, and it doesn't turn on. =/
     
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    When you pulled the battery, did you leave it out (and make sure the phone wasn't plugged in to a charger or anything) and press the power button for 20-30 sec? If not try that and then try booting into recovery or download mode.
     
  7. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA
    Try this

    Pull out the battery, hold the power button for a good 10 seconds to drain any remaining juice, put the battery back in and let it sit for a good 30 seconds, then try to turn it on / go into recovery....

    if your phone vibrates and powers on your good :)
     
  8. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    Nothing. I appreciate the suggestions though. =/
     
  9. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Is your battery dead?
     
  10. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    Nope. Was the first thing I checked.
     
  11. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Okay, I moved this discussion to it's own thread so we don't clutter up the ROM thread. :)
     
    JTAKER and Mobstergunz like this.
  12. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    Should I just call it bricked and call VM for a replacement? If they'll give me one, that is...
     
  13. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    It doesn't make sense that rebooting after flashing the ROM would do that. After the batter pulls what mode did you try to boot into?
     
  14. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    After the pull, I just tried to boot it normally by holding down just the power button. Once that didn't work, I tried recovery by holding down the power and volume down. After that, I tried volume up + down + the power button. Held them all for at least ten seconds, to no avail.
     
  15. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    If you do a battery pull and press the power for a bit. Then put it back in and plug in the charger, does anything happen?
     
  16. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    Nothing at all.
     
  17. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    It's sounding like a battery issue to me. How are you testing that it isn't dead?
     
  18. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    Used a volt meter on it, and it checked out fine.
     
  19. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Okay.


    It doesn't recognize the phone at all when you connect it to a PC? Try download mode (even if it won't show the text) and report back once more.

    Sorry if you feel like you have done all this before, but your situation is very odd, and I just want to double check all bases before telling you to call and see about a replacement.
     
  20. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    Still nothing. And it's fine, I'm willing to try anything to get it working again. Thank you for all the suggestions. ^_^
     
  21. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I can't think of anything else. I would call VM and see if they will replace it or not. :(
     
  22. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    Do you know if they have a way of finding out if it's rooted? Because I believe that would void any kind of warranty I have. >.>
     
  23. voxibanez

    voxibanez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    128
    33
    43
    This happened to my the first time I bought a Triumph. No matter what I did it wouldnt turn on or do anything. I ended up sending it back to VM and they sent me another one. Triumphs do weird stuff like this, they are very poor in build quality.
     
  24. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    They sent me a new one and mine was rooted. I know they have done the same for many others. I wouldn't worry about it too much. If the phone can't turn on or connect to anything, then they shouldn't be able to tell anyway.
     
  25. JTAKER

    JTAKER Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    104
    7
    36
    Still infinite times better than the Intercept though. I will never touch that phone again. >.<

    Thanks for saying they replaced it though; that eases my nerves.

    Also, any idea how long it could take for a new one to be sent back?
     

Share This Page

Loading...