1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problems after root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by denglehart, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. denglehart

    denglehart Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I rooted my phone last night and everything went great. Today I downloaded the app ad free android from the market...my phone rebooted after download and now it won't boot past the boost screen. It's almost as if the ad free app is recognizing the boost startup screen as an add and is blocking it...Anyway, my phone won't do anything but do a fb vibrate and stay on the boost screen. Do I need to remove the root to fix this or what can I do? I'm a noob, and I really need my phone! Help!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Addacus

    Addacus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    197
    45
    63
    Unemployed
    Arizona

    Did you make a backup with CWM before things went astray? If not i am pretty sure you will need to Odin back to either stock EE14 or Rooted EE14.
     
  3. SpCowboy2842

    SpCowboy2842 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    289
    55
    53
    Male
    Warehouse Manager
    The mountains of N.C.
    Just check out hroark's Odin thread and download his version of Odin with rooted EE14 with clockwork mod. All of the instructions for use are posted, and then you'll be good to go
     
  4. denglehart

    denglehart Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I went to the Odin thread and clicked on DOWNLOAD EE14 ROOTED VERSION WITH CWM AND HROARKERNEL. It brings me to MegaUpload via Mega Manager. From there I have no clue what I'm doing. I clicked where it says download link, but it does nothing.
     
  5. PhoneMan93

    PhoneMan93 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    443
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011

    Oct 1, 2011
    443
    73
    53
    Read my thread in my Signature, it tells you how to root your phone without any errors.
     
  6. SpCowboy2842

    SpCowboy2842 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    289
    55
    53
    Male
    Warehouse Manager
    The mountains of N.C.
    Megaupload does me like that from time to time. Just click on the download link again, and depending on what version of Windows that you are running, there should be a pop-up at the bottom of the screen that says run or save. Click save. After saving, go into your library and find the downloaded file. You will need to extract Odin before using it though.
     
  7. denglehart

    denglehart Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    PhoneMan93-I can't download anything from the MegaUpload site, so I can't even do the old root.
    SpCowboy2842-I finally have Odin up and figured out, but my phone is still a vibrating frisbee. Odin only runs the first yellow com box and won't go any further. This is what its says in the message box:
    Download Start...
    <0> Create File...
    <1> StartThread Detected : 1
    <2> StartThread Detected : 0
    <3> StartThread Detected : 0
    <4> StartThread Detected : 0
    <5> StartThread Detected : 0
    <6> StartThread Detected : 0
    <7> StartThread Detected : 0
    <8> StartThread Detected : 0
    <1> setup connection...
    <1> odin mode.. check plcatform verification.
    <1> VerifyPlatform:V0, P0,R0
    <1> START!!!
    <1> set download environment.
    <1> big partition size!!
    <1> recovery.img download..
    <1> 1/5 Finished.
    <1> reset pda..
    <0> Started Timer
    <1> Close serial port and wait until rebooting.
     
  8. SpCowboy2842

    SpCowboy2842 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    289
    55
    53
    Male
    Warehouse Manager
    The mountains of N.C.
    I'm not at my computer right now, but you need to get back into download mode. In the 6 or 7 selection boxes towards the the bottom right of the screen Select the operating system, then the boot .tar, phone .tar, and then PDA, and then start. Give it another try in that order and see if that gets it going.
     
  9. PhoneMan93

    PhoneMan93 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    443
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011

    Oct 1, 2011
    443
    73
    53
    It could be your web browser, try fire fox or chrome
     

Share This Page

Loading...