1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Root Problems Downloading the SDK

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Enraged21, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    So I'm in the process of rooting my phone. So far I've installed the HTC Sync, but I also need to DL the SDK.
    I downloaded it but when I try to install, It says I need to download Java SE Development Kit (JDK).
    So I then went to the website and tried downloading the first package and it still didn't let me through. It said the same thing that I needed the JDK.
    So I tried the Last one.
    Same thing again....
    I don't know what else to do.

    Anybody can help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
  4. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    yeah and when I run it is when it says I need the JDK. Which I installed. Then when I ran the SDK again, same thing happened as before. Saying I still need the JDK.
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    You might try the zip file.

    Very little of the SDK is really used for rooting.
     
  6. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    So there is a way around this?
    And how exactly will I use the .zip file?
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Create a kind of sandbox folder - maybe under your documents - and call it Evo Shift.

    Place the zip there, then unzip it - I believe it will populate below that Evo Shift folder.

    You really just want access to the tools directory, if I recall correctly.
     
    Enraged21 likes this.
  8. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    But through the .zipped file, how would I used the SDK for rooting purposes?
    I still don't understand why the original SDK file won't install.
     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I presume you've found some instructions requiring access to adb (an sdk program) to manipulate the /system folder on your phone, or to install recovery.
     
  10. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    i don't recall. Cause I don't know what that means.
     
  11. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    So I still don't know the reason why it didn't go threw. But I guess part of the reason was because I somehow didn't have windows installer on my comp (my comp messed up after my sister played with it, and so many things got deleted) but I did a system restore.
    After I redownloaded everything and it all installed properly. Now I can start to root my phone....
    Thank you for your help though.
     
  12. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    New problem.
    Beginner's Guide to Installing the SDK and Getting Started with ADB - xda-developers

    When I try to first enter in the thing into the command propt, it can't find the path for C:\AndroidSDK\platform-tools

    idk if I am supposed to put the "cd" in front of it, but I have also tried that.
    I did put USB debugging on before connecting my phone and left it on charge only.
    I'm not sure if I put the path for it in properly cause I couldn't right click "mycomputer"
    But, I searched environmental variables and did it through there. Just another way to get to it.
    But I don't know why it's not recognizing that code.

    hmmmm?
     
  13. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    Another Problem.
    HTC Sync Won't work either. Needs Adobe AIR. I downloaded it. But installing it fails.
    I am the computer administrator, and it says "An error occurred while installing Adobe AIR. Installation may not be allowed by your administrator. Please contact your administrator."
    I don't know what to do about this one now...

    If it's not one thing it's the other... I think at this point I'm just fed up. Rooting isn't for me.
     
  14. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    Back to Square 1: installing the SDK.
    Now I have sync installed, but not the SDK.
    Like I said, if it's not one this it's the other.
    I downloaded the .zip file of the SDK.
    How do I install C:\AndroidSDK path over the default path through the zip file?
    I've already extracted it, but don't know where to go from there.

    I'm posting too much. But I just need some desperate help.
     
  15. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    When you extracted it, it should have asked you if you wanted to specify a path, or to use the default. you should have copied the path above into the field where it asked if you wanted to specify the path. Confusing enough? lol

    You will get it dude, just stick to it.
     
  16. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    Good news. I got the SDK and Sync installed. FINALLY!! :)
    But the next step to run cmd and enter the following steps:
    cd C:\AndroidSDK\platform-tools (that goes through)
    adb (that goes through)
    adb shell (goes through)
    but when I type in su, it is denied... I do have superuser app on my phone.
    Is it okay to proceed or do I need the su approved in the cmd beforehand?
     
  17. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Yes you need to be superuser. not permission denied. Try temproot again.
     
  18. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    Temprooted my phone through VISIONary.
    Then I went back and did the same steps through cmd.
    su permission still denied.
     
  19. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
  20. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    can I grant permissions through terminal emulator on my phone, or even the superuser app?
     
  21. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Somebody who knows more than I chime in here. I've been trying for 2 days to help, and haven't gotten him anywhere. I can't understand what the problem would be. He is temprooted (has ti backup on the phone) but keeps getting permission denied when trying to get su access.... Chime in if you can help...
     
  22. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I assume that when Titanium Backup is launched, SU permissions are asked and granted?

    Within Titanium Backup, there's an option to install BusyBox, consider that a requirement.

    With the jumping around non-methodically, and no clear goal, assistance is difficult to provide.
     

Share This Page

Loading...