1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problems installing apps through market

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by drdoom, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    Since I flashed some of the 2.2 ROMs, I have noticed that installing/updating apps from the market is hit or miss. Right now, I have two apps that are fully downloaded but aren't installing for some reason. They are showing up in the market as 100% downloaded and just stuck on that. Any ideas? I'm running adrynalyne's Sense ROM.
     

    Advertisement

  2. zamugustar

    zamugustar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    56
    75
    33
    Some apps will not install with the SD card mounted atm. I know Google Sky is one like that. Un-mount the SD card and try again.
     
    drdoom likes this.
  3. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    Use adb.


    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. adb shell
    3. pm setInstallLocation 1
    4.  
    Will work till you reboot and it reverts. Looking for a place to change it permanently.

    Might be useful task for tasker, if it can be done. Have it run pm setInstallLocation 1 when loading the market.
     
    drdoom likes this.
  4. Azelis

    Azelis Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    102
    3
    36
    web developer
    Minnesota
    I've been having similar issues, though I'm also getting a lot of 'download failed' messages too. Those I can usually restart a few times and get to complete. And this is mostly on my home network, not 3G.

    Barrr and Google Sky are the two I can think of off the top of my head.
     
  5. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    Ironically, Google Sky installed just fine for me first try. If I restart the downloads a few times, they will usually install. But that gets pretty annoying. Hopefully adrynalyne's command will fix it.
     
  6. GatorsUF

    GatorsUF Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    152
    46
    43
    I am having trouble installing Wireless tether, is there any other fixes? It is annoying.
     

Share This Page

Loading...