1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Problems upgrading HTC Hero to Android 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Andyc655, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Andyc655

    Andyc655 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009

    Sep 30, 2009
    14
    0
    35
    Hi all,

    There are a few similar posts to this problem, but no one seems to have the same issue. Apologies if I have missed an answer but any help well appreciated!

    I am trying to upgrade my HTC Hero (Firmware version 1.5). I have downloaded the ROM upgrade to set my phone to Android 2.1. I have also downloaded the latest HTC Sync software.

    I have no problem 'syncing' my phone with my PC (Windows 7) and the connection is fine. Until, I open the ROM upgrade software on my PC. When I get to the first window warning me the upgrade will delete all info from my phone and asking me to open the Readme, the connection always drops out. Therefore, the PC cannot start updating the phone.

    This happens everytime and I can't find any way round it. Can anyone help or point me in the right direction?

    Any help would be massively massively appreciated!

    Thank you
     

    Advertisement

  2. colin4unow

    colin4unow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    110
    11
    58
    Retired
    London UK
    Hi Andy.
    I seem to have seen this before on this forum.
    To cut a long story short the remedy was to do the update on a different computer. This guy had tried everything and after days of pulling his hair out he tried his friends computer and bingo it worked first time. I believe his computer was running windows 7 and his friends was running XP .... hope this helps..

    Colin
     
  3. Puffy

    Puffy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    48
    0
    15
    Jawja!
    New update for Sprint hero just went live on mine. 2.2 I think.
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    No 2.2 for the Sprint Hero (unless you are rooted:D), just some fixes for dialer and gps problems
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...