1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problems with Cyanogen and MIUI

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JoeGoe, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. JoeGoe

    JoeGoe Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    23
    0
    35
    Students
    SoCal
    Hello everyone,

    I've been having serious problems with both Cyanogen and MIUI. Cyanogen seems to work fine for, like, two minutes, but then I would get an endless force close loop of either android.media, android.vending, or android.acore. On top of that, when I tried to reboot It would hang at the cyanogen logo. With MIUI, my market and gmail app always fc. Any ideas on how to fix things?
     

    Advertisement

  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Full wipe of data/cache/dalvik right? If so, are you restoring any data/apps VIA Titanium or similar? Were you previously on a froyo ROM?
     
  3. JoeGoe

    JoeGoe Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    23
    0
    35
    Students
    SoCal
    Yes to data/cache/dalvik. Yes, I'm resorting data + apps. Yes I was on a froyo ROM before.
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,183
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,183
    8,681
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Make sure only market apps. Sometimes if you restore "missing apps", it'll try to pull things in from froyo which borks things when transferring to AOSP. Weed through the list before performing the batch operation and bring only market apps along for the ride no matter how important any other app sounds. Everything you need will be included in the framework of CM7/MIUI.
     
    JoeGoe likes this.
  5. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    You're probably experiencing the cm7/etc version of the low on space bug(refer to the support section if you're not familiar). I get this occasionally, and resolve it by going through app manager and clearing data and cache from apps, starting from the largest to smallest. clearing cache is harmless while clearing data will remove passwords, settings and any other saved data. Also, you can free up more space by uninstalling apps you don't use that have stored data.
     
  6. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,851
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,851
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA

    For the record I have never gotten this error message. The most apps I have had at one time is 81 user installed apps.
     
  7. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI

    You won't get the error message, and it doesn't matter how many apps you have installed, just how much data they are using.
     

Share This Page

Loading...