1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problems with my widgets...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dibs, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. Dibs

    Dibs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    159
    8
    56
    Male
    Contact Centre Manager
    Edinburgh
    I'm on Redux 1.2 and recently wife clock widget has stopped working, I was using Fancy widgets!!

    The widget comes up, but doesn't update at all, the time/battery percentage stays the same. Also, the beautiful widgets won't load at all...

    Any ideas as to the problem?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Where are they installed?
     
  3. MandaNick

    MandaNick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011

    Feb 18, 2011
    206
    27
    43
    Did you move the apps to your SD card?
     
  4. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    widgets need to be on internal memory.
     
  5. Dibs

    Dibs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    159
    8
    56
    Male
    Contact Centre Manager
    Edinburgh
    Thanks for the replies!

    I have the apps2sd script (dalvic?), when I go to manage the app, I don't get the option to move it anywhere else!
     
  6. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    Surely using a non-Froyo/Google A2SD installation it will all be seen as internal anyway and should be fine?
     
  7. Dibs

    Dibs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    159
    8
    56
    Male
    Contact Centre Manager
    Edinburgh
    I done the rooting about 2 months ago, and only started getting problems in the last week!
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes but I was wondering if it had been forced to fat somehow
     
  9. Dibs

    Dibs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    159
    8
    56
    Male
    Contact Centre Manager
    Edinburgh
    It's not showing on the SD, it shows as on internal???

    How can I check, if I delete / re-download will it go to 'internal'?

    Thanks.
     
  10. Dibs

    Dibs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    159
    8
    56
    Male
    Contact Centre Manager
    Edinburgh
    Tried other clock widgets, and none are working. Think i'll try another ROM!!

    Probloem could be Redux?
     
  11. Dibs

    Dibs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    159
    8
    56
    Male
    Contact Centre Manager
    Edinburgh
    Ironically, analogue clocks update fine. It's just the digital clock and battery levels that don't seem to!
     
  12. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    333
    The Netherlands
    I can move all the apps from/to internal (sd-ext) and SD card (FAT32) on CM7 ROM.
    The most likely cause if widget failure is if it is on SD card (FAT32). It is possible, that there was a Market update for that widget, which has moved it somehow to SD card. I doubt though that the developer would code this widget that way.

    I would use App2sd application to see if there is anything on SD card and move them all back to internal. Then reboot the phone and hope that the app2sd+ script in Redux would auto kick-in. If the problems continue, I'd flash the script again. If that doesn't help too, then it's time for a new flash.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    No. Works for everyone else
     
  14. Dibs

    Dibs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    159
    8
    56
    Male
    Contact Centre Manager
    Edinburgh
    Good!

    My Widgets are back working again! Wondered if it could be an issue with GO Ex. But who knows, will have to hope its fixed itself!

    Thanks all.
     
  15. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,274
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    No, i use go launcher with redux. No probs, ;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...