1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Problems with new FAcebook app

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by cyberelex, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. cyberelex

    cyberelex Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    Does Anyone have multiples contacts being created and linked every single time the app initiates a sync. So for example under Joe smith it would create a contact named com.facebook.auth.login under joe smith. And this is created everytime it syncs, so overnight i had about 5 for each contact. It also doesnt pull the picture for each contact. is this just me?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Munnarg

    Munnarg Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    229
    29
    43
    Male
    I personally use the Facebook for HTC Sense to sync my contact pics. I've never used the Facebook app to sync or for notifications.
     
  3. chris_h16

    chris_h16 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Hi
    Yes i get this. I usually use the HTC Sense app which has always worked fine, then I've updated to Froyo 2.2 on HTC Desire and noticed the new Facebook update of the market app so downloaded and starting using this but it only syncs the contact name and no status or pictures into the contacts, but it does update itself if you go into the app iteslf. I also got the duplicated contact on each sync.
     
  4. kast107

    kast107 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    A little off topic, but be careful with the FB update. I just uninstalled it because it wasn't letting my phone go to sleep. I need to conserve my precious battery.
     
  5. bzxzlg

    bzxzlg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    Technical Delivery Manager, BIG computer/printer M
    The ATL
    I did notice that in the new facebook app you can adjust the update settings ... menu -> settings -> refresh interval = set to never and then uncheck notifications :)
     
  6. kast107

    kast107 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    The old FB allowed you to do the same thing. The problem is that with this one, even if you turn off the notifications and set the refresh interval to "never", it still keeps running in the background and won't let your phone sleep.
     
  7. EvilAndroid

    EvilAndroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    ouch... same for me. I just linked them all; only 18 minutes of my life I'll never get back.
     
  8. Texrands

    Texrands Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Same problem here Cyber...anyone have a fix?
     
  9. brushrop03

    brushrop03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    287
    36
    43
    Student
    Nashville, TN
    yep...Facebook in your browser
     
  10. elteedub

    elteedub Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    31
    5
    16
    i dont understand whats with all the facebook apps...if i remember correctly my phone came with a facebook app pre installed..then theres something on the phone called facebook htc sense and in the marketplace there is a facebook for android..what is the difference between all three
     
  11. brushrop03

    brushrop03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    287
    36
    43
    Student
    Nashville, TN
    Facebook for android is the app that came with the phone

    Facebook for HTC sense is the integration between your facebook account and everything in your phone (i.e. events, birthdays, contacts, etc.) It's not considered an app.
     
  12. elteedub

    elteedub Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    31
    5
    16
    ok and then what is the app that is in the marketplace..facebook for android?
     
  13. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    429
    21
    58
    Nashville, TN
    yes elteeedub
     
  14. elteedub

    elteedub Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    31
    5
    16
    so if i install that app does it replace the facebook app i have on my phone already? i dont see an option on the app that came with the phone to let you update
     
  15. SwiftFox

    SwiftFox Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    30
    1
    36
    N.Ireland UK

    when u click install on the facebook app on market it will pop up a notification on screen that it will replace the currently installed app
     
  16. elteedub

    elteedub Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    31
    5
    16
    thanks...until they add chat...i am not updating
     
  17. TheBiles

    TheBiles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    705
    159
    93
    Atlanta, GA
    Helpful and insightful!


    I do not have this problem with Facebook sync. I would probably just disable the sync if I were you, but you might want to try re-installing to see if that helps any.
     
  18. backwater

    backwater Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    46
    0
    15
    mine makes me login again every night/morning now since the update. i don't know why but it's annoying.
     

Share This Page

Loading...