1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problems with Recovery modes and HTC white screen stuck

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kilgorin, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. kilgorin

    kilgorin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi there, Im new to the forums just to throw it out there but here goes,

    I have been looking for another person who has run into the couple of problems that I have run into but throughout all of the rooting threads I couldn't find one that quite answers my question very well.

    I rooted my phone using this guide Updated (4/21/2011): [Exclusive] How To Root The HTC ThunderBolt And Unlock Its Bootloader | Android News, Reviews, Apps, Games, Phones, Tablets, Tips, Mods, Videos, Tutorials - Android Police

    Now everything worked out great flawless and perfect. I gained root access and ran clockwork recovery on my phone flashed it and turned on the BAMF 1.7 rom or at least the most recent one.

    My phone was soaring doing all the great things of a rooted phone. So I tried to flash a new rom to try out a couple others I downloaded I think the Liquid Thunder ROM or something named close to that. Also the same way through BAMF. I made a backup of my ROM as usual just in case...but here is my issue...I tell the phone to reset in recovery mode and then it quits and comes back up with the HTC white screen and just sits there forever.

    Now, I take battery out and put back in, the phone runs back up and brings the BAMF rom back up and works fine.

    Now when I just simply try to reset the phone, it goes to HTC white screen and freezes, or if I try to download new apps or text someone or call or anything if I turn the phone off by taking the battery out and turning it back on the phone goes back to the saved BAMF stock rom and acts like it cant save any new info. If I get any new texts or anything they all erase and it all goes back to the way it was. I have tried loading different roms on the phone and running adb bootloader and getting it to install but even after the fastload USB loads what I believe to be the solution and it updates everything and when it restarts it ALWAYS stops at HTC white screen. I have to pull battery and then it fully loads but keeps giving me the same old crap with the older recovery it made or something. I really confused. I am wondering if I need to unroot then re root or what, or if this is my fault or if something is glitching around because i cant get any kind of recovery to work properly, Please help me guys appreciate it!!

    Also I try to turn on the phone with the hold the power button and the vol down button together and the phone comes up with the load screen thing but It Wont let me do anything it immediately starts to do an HBOOT and the just starts to update whatever....BUT after it loads It freaking gets stuck at White screen again.
     

    Advertisement

  2. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    sounds like your recovery has somehow become corrupted or compromised... that why your phone will boot normally,but hang when trying to get to recovery.

    if you are able to boot into a functional rom,id reflash clockwork with rom manager. before you tap "flash clockwork recpovery" hit the menu softkey,clear download cache,then menu softkey again,then settings,make sure "erase recovery" is checked.

    now flash clockwork again. you can try to boot into clockwork for manual management directly from rom manager if you want to.

    if that doesnt work, power the phone off. power on while holding volume down.

    does your bootloader say s-off? what is the other info on the bootloader screen?

    now select recovery with the volume rocker and power button and see if it takes you to clockwork.

    ive seen people reccomend flashing clockwork multiple times,and while its hard to imagine that this has any effect,it certainly couldnt hurt if you are still unable to boot into it. i actually have seen it work... or at least appear to work ;)

    if you can get to recovery,id try a fresh install of a that rom,or a different one. or you can restore a working backup if you have one.

    just make sure when flashing roms:
    *first and formost: DO NOT attermp to make backups,download and flash new roms with rom manager until you have a good understanding of how to navigate the menus and manually do these thing in clockwork recovery.
    -always make a backup of a good working rom(if youre having issues,its unlikely youd ever want to restore it,so its not terrible to not make the backup)
    -wipe data
    -wipe cache
    -wipe dalvik cache

    flashing roms overtop of different roms with no wipes can cause the rom all sorts of confusion,as can trying to restore some types of system data with titanium backup. so if youve done either of those things,that is likely why youre experienceing the strange things in your current rom.

    a couple other things that come to mind... make sure usb debugging is checked on,and there is a setting called "enable fast boot" that you want to make sure is unchecked,as you will not be able to boot into bootloader with it checked on.

    let us know how all that works out :)

    edit: just moticed from your last comment that you appear to have a PG05IMG file still on your sd card. youll need to get it off. place the card into a card reader,or if you can boot into a functional rom,connect to your PC,and delete it that way.

    and this is very important: what is this file? is it left over from rooting? or is it something else?
     
    jimnycricket65 likes this.
  3. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    Try this, open rom manager, an go into setting an click erase recovery, then click setting clear download cache. Now close rom manager an restart the phone. Now go back into rom manager, an click at the top to flash clockwork mod recovery. Then boot into recovery, an then try install a new rom or make a nandroid backup or something to test if it works or not.
     
  4. kilgorin

    kilgorin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I also read that I should erase this so I did, and Now when I try to boot it up with the power button and the volume rocker it does come up and now when I say go to recovery it goes into clockwork! So I am a step further....however...I now have fully tried flashing a new rom and clockwork acts like it installs it and everything then it finishes....I say reboot device and phone gets stuck at white screen. So then I pull battery and turn it on and of course goes allll the way back again to my original ROM with BAMF and acts like I didnt install anything new. My bootloader screen says it is S-OFF, so I think that is fine and all. I am still trying some more things, Any other suggestions is awesome...you guys have been helpful so far. Any ideas as to if I just tried to completely start over again or unrooting will fix it? I dont mind spending a long time doing it as long as the end result works out to a working device. :)
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    are you wiping data/cache/dalvik cache before flashing the new rom?

    how are you getting the rom to your phone? are you verifying the md5?

    how long are you giving it at the white htc screen? the initial install of many roms can stay at this screen for several minutes,maybe you arent giveing it long enuff?
     
  6. kilgorin

    kilgorin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I have been trying to do as you said and making sure to clear data and cache and to make sure erase the recovery before flashing a new one I have been waiting a couple min. I mean im just not sure what's going on still this isnt my first rooted phone. I will continue to update as I go along.
     
  7. kilgorin

    kilgorin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    what i think i may do is just reroot...unless someone thinks that is a bad idea. I think maybe if I just start over and reroot the phone i can get back to the regular unpacked unlocked rom?
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    i do not believe it is neccessary for you to unroot and re-root. there is a flaw somewhere in your download/transfer/wipe/flash procedure that i think we have just not found yet :)
     
  9. KennyJive

    KennyJive Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    14
    1
    16
    Wiping the download cache, fixed my problem. I've searched everyone and was up until 2 am (It was my g/f TB so I had to get it done quick lol) Thank you so much.
     
  10. jimnycricket65

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    10
    0
    15

    I rooted my Thunderbolt and flashed CUBE
     
  11. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    you are not getting to recovery because you are getting to FASTBOOT,not HBOOT,presumably thru "quickboot" app,or adb reboot bootloader. youll need to push power to select "bootloader" then you can navigate to and select recovery with the volume rocker and power button.

    you can also reach hboot from a powered off state via power on/volume down.

    any of the AOSP roms will provide speed and good battery. id personally suggest cm7 or shiftth3ory,but check them all out for yourself,or possibly start up a new discussion thread, those questions arent as likely to been seen here.

    last and not least,id highly reccomend NOT using rom manager for flashing,wiping,backing up,etc. recovery is much safer and more stable.

    hope that helps... im off to work,but ill try and check in during the day :)
     
    jimnycricket65 likes this.
  12. jimnycricket65

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I have gone here to HBOOT Screen before and now I am able to get to the right screen via pressing power button and volume key. I scroll down to the RECOVERY and when I press power button, it takes me back to FASTBOOT SCREEN.
     
  13. jimnycricket65

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I forgot to mention that last night I tried to unroot but failed and just ended up at the FASTBOOT screen.

    Cube rom seems good enough for wireless tethering but since I am rooted in should have the option to try other rims which I don't at this time.
     
  14. jimnycricket65

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    do I need to have the deleted PG05IMG.zip file in order to get HBOOT to work? I choose recovery and it looks for that file.
     
  15. jimnycricket65

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    It's not the PG05IMG.zip but rather PG05DIAG.zip seems to be missing. Could I have deleted the PG05DIAG.zip file while trying to delete the other one? In that case,how do I get it back?
     
  16. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    yes,you will need to delete the PG05IMG in ordere to get to recovery.

    you maybe are trying to select recovery too soon.

    power the phone on into hboot(power/volume down). wait a couple minutes. hboot will check for PG05IMG files(youll see the green lettering flash on the screen for a second)

    after you see the green writing,youll note that fastboot is highlighted in blue. pressing the power buttun will take you to fastboot,wich is the screen that you described above.bootloader will be highlighted in blue. push the power button to select it,and take you back to hboot.

    wether entering fastboot from powered off,or from fastboot,the key is you need to wait until the green writing has flashed,and the phone does not find any PG05IMG files to update.

    press the volume down rocker once so that recovery is highlighted in blue. now push the power button and it should take you to recovery.

    as far as PG05DIAG should not have anything to do with your issue.

    what did you do to try and unroot that failed? :thinking:

    i suspect that you are just not quite selecting recovery with the volume rocker/power button.

    if you had flashed something that overwrote your custom recovery,then selecting recovery should just take you to the stock recovery,wich is a traingle and !. the only way that i can think of that selecting recovery may take you back to hboot would be if you do not have any recovery,period. i cant think of anything that you could have done that would have deleted the recovery all together.

    are you still able to boot into a working rom? if so,follow these directions to try and reflash your recovery:


    Flash ClockwordMod recovery
    1)download rom manager from the market
    2)open rom manager
    3)touch menu softkey
    4)touch settings
    5)put a checkmark next to erase recovery
    6)touch the back softkey
    7)menu softkey again
    9)touch clear download cache
    10)at the top of the screen on rom managers main menu,touch "flash clockworkmod recovery"
    11)confirm your phone model when the box pops up by touching htc thunderbolt
    12)you should see a green status bar at the top of the screen.
    13)rom manager will request superuser permissions. when superuser pops up,touch "allow"
    14)next thing you hopefully will see is "clockwork flashed successfully"


    if you get "clockwork flashed successfully" then,select "boot to recovery for manual management" and see if you are taken to the clockworkmod recovery screen. here you can follow directions from post#3 of the http://androidforums.com/thunderbolt-all-things-root/353591-how-some-root-terminology.html thread to make a backup,wipe,and flashe a new rom. make sure you are wiping data,cache,and dalvik cache.

    let us know what happens :)
     
    jimnycricket65 likes this.
  17. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I think hboot will also look for the PG05DIAG and try to update with that. I would suggest deleting it and seeing if that will let you get to recovery
     
    jimnycricket65 likes this.
  18. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    True,but there is absolutely no reason one of those would be on the SD card.
     
    jimnycricket65 likes this.
  19. jimnycricket65

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Thank you for your help. It turns out my SD card was faulty. I read that somewhere last night and noticed an old SD card from the original droid. Gave it a go ROM Manager and was able to flash Cynomogen 7.

    HOWEVER, now I am without mobile data connection. I am looking for the right Radio (I think that is waht I need to do) and instruction on flashing it.
     
  20. trapperjohn

    trapperjohn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    212
    30
    43

    Hi,
    For info on radios and how to install them it is at the top of this forum as a sticky here is the link for it :)
    Thanks,
    Bryan

    http://androidforums.com/thunderbolt-all-things-root/399960-radios-recoveries-hboot.html
     
    jimnycricket65, WormDoes and Yeahha like this.
  21. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Flash the radio in hboot not recovery
     
    jimnycricket65 likes this.
  22. jimnycricket65

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Just want to make sure.
    I think I found the radio for my GB rom.
    rename the file to PG05IMG.zip
    load it on my sd card
    power btton / volume down
    recovery
     
  23. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    You are correct Mr cricket
     
    jimnycricket65 likes this.
  24. trapperjohn

    trapperjohn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    212
    30
    43
  25. jimnycricket65

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    thank you...
    If I try new ROM, do I need that zip file again to flash?
     

Share This Page

Loading...