1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Problems with temp-root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by OldFatCracker, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. OldFatCracker

    OldFatCracker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I'm attempting to perm root my phone, which thus requires a temp root first. I've tried both Visionary and Z4Root and neither have worked. When I run Z4Root, it just hangs. Once it restarted, but upon reboot my phone wasn't rooted. Visionary, simply nothing works, when I do "temp root now" it will start the loading screen and once it finishes my phone isn't rooted, if I do root when booted, it just doesn't work.

    Please help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Keep trying, it takes a few tries for some...
     
  3. OldFatCracker

    OldFatCracker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    What should I be looking for if it works? is there anything additional I need on say, my SD card besides having the apps installed?
     
  4. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Nothing on the sd card, but you should be able to dl a root only app from the market. That is the easiest way to check
     
  5. OldFatCracker

    OldFatCracker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Does Superuser show up automatically if rooted?
     
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    I don't believe it does until you flash a recovery.
     
  7. OldFatCracker

    OldFatCracker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    When I do su in the adb shell I get permission denied when not rooted, if I were temprooted I would get through correct? Is that an efficient way of checking? Also if I did su in the terminal emulator app, that would work to check also right?
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Yes, you would get through. I think it changes from a # to a $ also...
     
  9. edp

    edp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009

    Nov 20, 2009
    274
    28
    43
    try running visionary in airplane mode. when you open visionary, also select temp root on boot before you select the temp root option. then proceed to temp root. if it reboots while temprooting, let it fully start up. when it's done loading everything, manually reboot it. after the manual reboot, it should work. you'll know because after you unlock the screen, visionary will attempt to temp root. this is how i got it to work after several failed attempts
     
  10. Enraged21

    Enraged21 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    128
    12
    38
    Orlando, FL
    I downloaded Titanium Backup. You can only use it if you have root access. I temp rooted my phone using VISTIONary + and it worked. First time it didn't.
    This is what I used. Try following this:
    YouTube - HTC EVO SHIFT Rooted (how to: temproot)
     

Share This Page

Loading...