1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root problems with wifi tether

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by double, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. double

    double Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    193
    30
    43
    does anyone have any suggestions to try to get my wifi tether working. i can start the app, i can connect my laptop to the access point it creates, but i have no internet access. any thoughts? is the app DHCP compatible or do i need to manually setup my ip settings on laptop?
     

    Advertisement

  2. dixonba

    dixonba Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    56
    7
    16
  3. double

    double Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    193
    30
    43
    i did exactly what it shows to do and created a folder named android.tether. moved the two files over. when i open astro the folder android.tether is not there? i even searched for android.tether in astro to no avail. WTF
     
  4. dixonba

    dixonba Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    56
    7
    16
    mpcc and Fezzik77 like this.
  5. double

    double Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    193
    30
    43
    thanks Dixon. i saw the manual instructions but didnt think to try it. i thought that was for people having trouble installing the app. my first attempt installed fine, it just wasnt operating properly so i thought it was setup or something.

    by any chance do you know if the audio file for the boot animation has to be renamed before pushing to device? i was successful with the video file but cannot get the .rar file over. any tips?
     
  6. rbombardiere

    rbombardiere Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you for the info, I followed your instructions but when I start the wireless tether app it gives me a message that it failed to load wifi interface, setting ad-hoc, setting Essie, and setting channel. What am I doing wrong...
     

Share This Page

Loading...