1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Procedure for changing ROMs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sak01, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    I'm new to all this so I just want to make sure if this is the most efficient and painless procedure for switching ROMs:

    1) Download ROM to SD card.
    2) Backup apps and data with Titanium Backup Pro(bought it)
    3) Recovery
    - a) wipe everything
    - b) flash new ROM
    5) Reboot - sign in to Google
    6) Install Titanium from market again and batch restore missing apps with data

    And that should give me a new ROM with all my existing apps, data, call history etc. in place as before, right?

    Do I need to backup my SD card to my PC at any point? I understand that 'Wipe' only wipes the EXT partition and leaves the FAT32 part alone so I assume I don't need to backup the SD card. Is that correct?

    (Note to self: As a test, do a Nandroid backup first which can be restored if things go wrong)
     

    Advertisement

  2. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,671
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,671
    313
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Yup.

    Try not to get too hung up about back ups, change can be good!
     
    Sak01 likes this.
  3. kewlbuddy

    kewlbuddy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    272
    33
    43
    Germany
    never try to restore system data
     
    Sak01 likes this.
  4. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    Just changed from GingerVillain to InsertCoin and wondered what I need to do with Titatinium backup. Which Restore should I run?
     
  5. kewlbuddy

    kewlbuddy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    272
    33
    43
    Germany
    apps+data or only apps is better
     
  6. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    wow, quick reply, thanks. What about moving user apps to sdcard, should I do that too?
     
  7. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    Thanks fellas. I wasn't planning on becoming a serial ROM switcher when I rooted but if the transition is seamless I might give it a chance.
    So that means I simply batch "Restore all apps with data" in Ti? edit: you answered before I posted. Thanks.

    Does it also mean that I don't need to backup system data in Ti either since I won't be restoring it?
     
  8. HTCandroid

    HTCandroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    114
    14
    38
    I always nandroid backup in case something goes wrong...

    your memory card shouldn't be wiped, but no harm in backing it up just in case your memory card corrupts etc.
     
  9. kewlbuddy

    kewlbuddy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    272
    33
    43
    Germany
    why do you need that while using apps2sd+
     
  10. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    Just new to this ROM and wondered why Titanium backup should have a batch that says move user apps to sdcard.
     
  11. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    no, keep them on internal with a2sd+
     
  12. madhatter1689

    madhatter1689 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    568
    37
    68
    Church Minister
    Belfast
    okay, cheers, that is the same as GingerVillain then. IC is a nice ROM. Runs smoothly. Only snag I have had is when I applied AdFree it stopped one of my games from working properly - Words with Friends. Had to revert and game is working fine now.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    if you're restoring with titanium use "restore missing apps with data" not "restore user apps + system data" ju7st to clear up any ambiguity
     
    Sak01 and madhatter1689 like this.
  14. Sak01

    Sak01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    942
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    942
    154
    93
    Male
    This isn't the right section for this but try Wordfeud. It's my favourite game at the moment and everyone seems to recommend it over WWF. Works like a charm.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...