1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

process com.android.phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by marvo, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. marvo

    marvo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Purchased unbranded Desire on Orange two weeks ago, unchanged from original, no downloads, no tinkering with software, no email set up, just numbers imported from old 2g sim onto new 3g sim. Handset occasionally locked up (could not unlock to accept a call, it just kept ringing) when receiving incoming call, rebooted then got error message "sorry, process system not responding" Force close/Wait, either option resulted in several minutes long freeze and reboot, so took phone back to shop.

    CPW exchanged for new handset (thank you) without question and told me they had sold many Desire handsets, and none had been brought back with this problem.

    New handset, imported phone numbers, downloaded Advanced task killer free, and some google stuff (new maps - very good).

    But yesterday, after task killing facebook, I get error message "Sorry, the process com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again". Force close.

    I have also been unable to hook up my email on either phone, and there is a problem connecting to my mobile network. Orange say everything is ok their end so it would appear to be the hardware. Neither could GeekSquad help.

    Is it me? Could it be the new 3G sim (common to both phones) could it be the Android software? Could it be the task killer?

    I've been onto Orange for advice and also to the GeekSquad (paid for tech hotline) and nobody has heard of this before. Except me, perhaps because im geeky enough to spend time hunting for answers on forums like this one.

    Ive got a new sim coming from Orange in the next day or so, and I'll report back if it makes a difference.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Yes, sounds like your task killer
     
  3. marvo

    marvo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Just to close this story..
    I think it was a faulty sim from new.
    Ive had a replacement sim in for nearly a week and phone seems fine now.
    Thanks all for help.
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Be aware of the task killer though, make sure you ignore the key background services
     
  5. mpavey

    mpavey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Hi Marvo,

    Thanks for posting this, and especially for taking the time to follow up on it once you'd solved the issue.

    I'm on Orange (in the UK) and have just bought an HTC Hero handset second-hand. It has (I'm told) been rooted and had the Android 2.1 software loaded. I just set it up with my old SIM (which worked fine in the SonyEricsson W705 that Orange provided) and switched it on. It connected to Orange no problems.

    However, I tested calling the phone (from my office landline) and got the same error message you posted above:

    I haven't got as far as starting any apps, let alone killing any tasks.

    Do you think this is owing to a problem with the SIM card? That seems odd to me (what is the difference between one SIM and another?!) but should I request a new one from Orange? Do I need to request anything specific, or should any new one do the trick?

    Thanks!

    Michael
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...