1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Process of switching to Sprint

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by tcv, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. tcv

    tcv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    159
    11
    38
    NJ
    I'll be switching over to Sprint soon from AT&T, and I had a question about the switch.

    For porting my 4 AT&T numbers over, do I do it at the Sprint store, AT&T store, and before or after I cancel my AT&T service? And is there anything other than this that I need to do, other than buying the Sprint phones and starting the service?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Do it at the Sprint store. Do it prior to cancelling your AT&T service.

    Make sure you call AT&T after your numbers have all ported to confirm that your service with them is terminated.
     
    tcv likes this.
  3. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    Be sure to port your numbers BEFORE you cancel your service with ATT. If you cancel your ATT service before you port to Sprint, you run the risk of losing your numbers.
    I would go to Sprint, get your phones and have them port the numbers. When the new Sprint phones are up and running, then call ATT for any cancelations you need to do.

    PS, why you switching? dropped calls or too expensive, or both?

    Welcome! :)
     
    tcv likes this.
  4. tcv

    tcv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    159
    11
    38
    NJ
    I'm fed up with AT&T and their recent decisions. (Higher ETFs, data cap, etc.)

    Sprint just has better voice and data coverage where I am, so I see no reason to put up with AT&T when I don't have to.

    The $50 in savings every month will be nice too.:D
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  5. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    Very Nice! I dont blame you.
     
  6. GOG

    GOG Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I just did the same thing today. Been with AT&T for 8yrs and they basically suck in every way.
     
  7. ChrisPlague

    ChrisPlague Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    397
    1
    56
    California
    if you live in socal come see me ill hook you up ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...