1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Processor temperature seems high...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nofxdan, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    Yesterday I rooted and installed the new Bugless Beast. While using the wifi tether app today, I noticed my processor getting fairly warm. Concerned, I downloaded TempMonitor. Without any overclocking at all, my processor was consistently running at around 44*C/111*F. The battery temperature hovers around 27-38*C.
    Why does my phone run so hot? Should I be worried? Some people have said the processor in the droid can handle temps approaching 100*C (!!!), is this correct?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Your processor is fine. While it says in the TI papers that it can handle 100C, I think the highest people have seen is around 65C (Tas saw that at 1.35GHz).

    Just don't let your battery get near 60C.
     
  3. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    Phew! Thanks, Fabolous.
     
  4. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,973
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,973
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    44 is high-ish but not really dangerous, personally i'd start to worry if I saw anything over 50, but I'm a worry-wart like that heh.
     
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Still, this is a passively cooled device, so temps higher than 50ish will probably feel a tad uncomfortable....
     
  6. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    1,005
    41
    118
    Northern VA
    Yeah, it starts to get a little uncomfortable.

    I set my failsafe at 50 to be safe.
     
  7. rhyno

    rhyno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    89
    2
    16
    Buffalo
    Honestly, when i initially rooted and o/c'd, I was running similar temperatures to you and perhaps a little higher based on workload. It concerned me as everyone else seemed to be running significantly cooler. Well, I decided to do a complete wipe and reinstall of a rooted rom (BBeast) and I am now running temperatures similar to everyone else. Even overclocked at 1100Mhz, I have to work pretty hard to hit 110+ whereas I felt like I lived there prior (when at 800), even without significant workload. If your concerned, which you shouldn't be too concerned, you could always do a clean wipe and install. It's not a bad idea when installing a new rom anyways (as opposed to installing a new version of the same rom).
     
  8. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    Now I have a new issue -- My battery temperature is showing up as 36*C, and my processor temp is listing as -1*C. I find this highly unlikely haha
     
  9. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    You're running Beast 0.7.6? Uncheck CPU temp. It's not supported with that kernel.
     
  10. nofxdan

    nofxdan Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    41
    1
    36
    I'm running whatever build was new this morning. It was working fine until about 10 minutes ago.
     
  11. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Huh, well it's behaving the way it's supposed to now. Pete's kernel doesn't have Tas' CPU temp code in it (even though I think it says in the release notes that it supports it). If you look in the release thread, everyone is getting the -1F temp reading.
     
  12. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    my phone is running cold at 1ghz! not bad! i mean i am not messing with it a lot right now, but i am impressed! pete is sweet
     
  13. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA

Share This Page

Loading...