• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Programmers! Opinions / Options

sc00bz

Jan 23, 2010
WEST TN
Here's the deal guys,

I've got an AAS with concentrations in PC Support, Information Assurance, and Networking.

HOWEVER

After not being able to find a PC related job in my area (within 50 miles) for the past year since I graduated, I have had a lot of time to reflect on my current situation. After doing extensive research on my options as far as taking a different path in life by going to a 4 year university and coming to the realization that there is no way in hell I can afford it due to my financial aid being dried up and not wanting to take out $100k+ in student loans, I had an epiphany. I decided to take a look at my transcript and looked at other majors at the local community college to see what I could put together that I may want to do. That's when it hit me. Programming! I thoroughly enjoyed the VB course that was required for me to take towards my current degree and actually considered changing my major at the time to programming. I looked at the programming requirements for graduating and voila... only 3 required courses and I could pick up that concentration.

NOW THE DILEMMA

The three requirements I will need to meet are as follows:

Advanced Database class
C++
Internship