1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [PROJECT] Get MMS working on AOSP/AOKP/CM/MIUI builds!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by heythereitsv, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. heythereitsv

    heythereitsv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    As many of you who try to flash AOSP/AOKP/CM/MIUI builds know, MMS doesn't like to work on these builds. What the goal of this thread is to finally get it working on our Evo V's. Post any info/findings you've made here!

    (SKCM is short for AOSP/AOKP/CM/MIUI in this post)

    Things I've found out:

    MMS works fine on the Evo 3D counterparts for most SKCM ROMs. For other VM phones with Sprint counterparts (the LG Optimus V for example), the fix is a simple apn-conf.xml change. CM even comes with this change baked into the ROM, and offers support for BOTH Sprint/VM. This fix doesn't work for our phones for some reason though.

    Oddly enough, the Sense 3.6/4 ROMs use a different simple fix that actually works on our Evo V- replacing the apns.xml in /res/xml of framework-res.apk does the trick with the one from the stock VM image does the trick. If you try this on SKCM ROM, it doesn't work, and wipes all APN settings for some reason. This also brings me to another point- there is less info in the Sense config. If you go to Messaging>Settings>MMS settings>Connection Settings in any Sense 3.6/4 based ROM, you'll see there are only three pieces of information: Name (SPG), MMSC (http://mmsc.vmobl.com:8088/mms?) and the MMS protocol which is WAP 2.0. The proxy and port are left unspecified.

    This is the interesting part- in the CM apns-conf.xml file, there is a lot more information defined- MMS proxy, port, MNC, and MCC. Yet this works for other VM phones, just not ours. There must be some difference between the MMS settings on our phones and other VM phones. Only question is: what is it? And where is it defined in Sense ROMs? Another odd thing: there is no apns-conf.xml in Sense 3.6, nor 4.

    If you open up APNs from the Voice Dialer (just say 'APN' into the Voice Dialer), it shows up blank on Sense ROMs. This makes sense, since I believe that menu reads off the apns-conf.xml.

    Senseless builds vs AOSP

    To clarify- Senseless =/= AOSP. AOSP is from the Android Open Source Project, which is basically stock Android straight from Google. Stuff the Nexus devices run. Also what CyanogenMod and AOKP are based off of.

    Senseless is based off of Sense builds (such as the stock Virgin Mobile ROM) from HTC, but with MOST of the Sense elements removed (you'll still notice a few Sense bits, like the Camera app, 3D functionality, etc). Also the reason why Senseless ROMs work perfectly for our phone.

    However, it's impossible to truly de-sense a ROM unless you manage to decompile ALL of the code/get source for the Virgin Mobile ROM. Sense is a very large addition to Android, and is pretty much baked in everywhere.

    Kind of like a chocolate cookie (the kind that are brown over) compared with something like a chocolate chip cookie- it's impossible to get the chocolate out of the chocolate cookie.

    Also the reason why AOSP ROMs are much smaller than the Senseless counterparts- 100MB vs (on average) 450MB.

    New information!
    -The MMS.apk from ParanoidAndroid 2.5.0 receives MMS now! No sending, but it's a giant step forward!
     

    Advertisement

    Kahroo and G19 like this.
  2. Spritey

    Spritey Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    152
    16
    38
    We should have a thread for 3D support as well :p
     
  3. joshua.worth

    joshua.worth Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    266
    63
    53
    Male
    Android Developer
    Denver, Colorado
    If anyone has managed to get it to work on the Boost Evo Design 4G which also has WiMAX radios then we might just be in business.
     
  4. EHokie

    EHokie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012

    Feb 20, 2012
    284
    47
    43
    Charlotte, NC
    Let's fix the thing that's practical, then the thing that's flashy :p
     
    SonicIt likes this.
  5. heythereitsv

    heythereitsv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    3D is much harder to get working, simply because that's a driver issue and a lot more in depth haha. :p

    Within about 20 seconds of searching, I found this! Apparently they have MMS working! I'm downloading it now to see what kind of changes they made... I'm also going to download a stock image of the Boost Evo Design 4G and see what they did there.

    I think it'd also help to see what the devs over on the One V (the closest cousin the Evo V has on Virgin Mobile) have done to get it working.
     
    Dilwann likes this.
  6. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    1. I didn't see anywhere in that thread they had it working for Boost Mobile. It is setup for USCC.

    2. Someone is going to have to get in the code and fix MMS. Moving stuff and changing stuff isn't going to fix it.

    3. I AM the dev that got MMS working on the One V. Both CM9/10. It was straight forward and no diff than anything else.

    4. I believe the issue to be because of Wimax and that is why MMS won't work using every known method. (Despite belief, I have lost hours/days caught up on MMS)
     
  7. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    I'm not sure if this would help but they got a Epic 4G to flash to VM. And that's a Wimax device so maybe doing what they did will get MMS working.

    Epic 4G to Virgin Mobile(SMS/MMS/VOICE/3G)*WORKING!* UPDATED:4-23-2012 - xda-developers

    Also this found this from here(http://www.groovypost.com/howto/epic-4g-on-virgin-mobile/):
    So maybe that CM9 Fix might help.
     
  8. howlofdawn

    howlofdawn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    38
    7
    16
    Looked into the zip, it basically edits the apn-config.xml file mentioned in OP. and that would be the normal fix. I've trying different methods of applying them to some of JMZ's builds before I flash but no go on MMS still.
    Besides different methods being overlooked I'm starting to think JMZ is right and its likely WiMax conflicting in some way when connecting to the virgin mms service.
     
  9. heythereitsv

    heythereitsv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    .
     
  10. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    Sprint handles MMS diff. That's why its working there and not working for us
     
  11. heythereitsv

    heythereitsv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    Do you happen to know what the difference is? I know that it's pretty much sent through Sprint, since VM is a Sprint subsidiary, but other than that... also, I get an odd message on logcat- something about the preferred APN being -1 or something like that. Also, type=null messages too. Has anyone tested it via GoSMS?
     
    kagevazquez likes this.
  12. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    Sprint doesn't use a proxy.

    The issue is and I have said it multiple times. (Not a shot at you, just mentioning it)

    When a MMS is sent on a properly working ROM it authenticates to the MMS proxy and sends. If you type in the IP address plus port into a properly working ROMs browser you will get a page to come up.

    On all aosp ROMs it times out to the proxy server. You also cannot pull up the page like on a sense ROM.

    How it authenticates I have no idea.
     
    heythereitsv likes this.
  13. heythereitsv

    heythereitsv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    By proxy, do you mean the MMS Proxy? Because Sprint uses one I believe.

    Sorry if I'm being slow, this bit is new to me. If I understand what you're saying correctly, that the AOSP ROMs fail to authenticate, and the Sense ROMs somehow authenticates via an unknown method.
     
  14. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    Yes that's the basics of it
     
  15. heythereitsv

    heythereitsv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    I think our best bet would be to look into the Boost Design 4G then. It's the closest thing we have to our phone (both subsidiaries of Sprint, 4G phones, use MMS proxies) in certain respects.
     
    joshua.worth likes this.
  16. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    The problem there is that both as a Sprint and a Boost branded phone there is very little dev support. I think it's much more likely from our end then theirs. And as everyone one knows even without Wimax thrown into the picture, Virgin's handling of mms has caused us headaches porting roms all the way back to the Intercept days.
     
  17. kagevazquez

    kagevazquez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    244
    35
    43
    Would this help ?
     

    Attached Files:

  18. joshua.worth

    joshua.worth Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    266
    63
    53
    Male
    Android Developer
    Denver, Colorado
    The thing is they've already got MMS working on some of their ROMs and/or the fix posted above.
     
  19. owentaba35

    owentaba35 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012

    Sep 25, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    It reboots by itself when it's not[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  20. heythereitsv

    heythereitsv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    ^This.

    Sadly, no. The 4G somehow screws everything up... we've already tried versions of that fix (for VirginMobile of course)

    What about the ones specifically for the Evo Design 4G?

    Might I ask what those are? Images are broken
     
    nsciucco likes this.
  21. narutoninjakid

    narutoninjakid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    586
    26
    68
    Male
    Student
    NJ
    A fix was found and a pic was posted in jmzs sense 4 port thread
     
  22. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    And I will throw the bullshit flag. He hasnt provided anything
     
    phw8558 likes this.
  23. heythereitsv

    heythereitsv Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012

    On Sense 4? Actually, I've gotten it working lol. Same fix as the Sense 3.6 ROMs, swap out /system/framework/framework-res.apk/res/xml/apns.xml with the one from the stock VM image

    *EDIT*

    I also had it in the OP "Oddly enough, the Sense 3.6/4 ROMs use a different simple fix that actually works on our Evo V- replacing the apns.xml in /res/xml of framework-res.apk does the trick with the one from the stock VM image does the trick."
     
  24. howlofdawn

    howlofdawn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    38
    7
    16
    That still leaves us at a blank for AOSP Roms though.
    Gosms isn't much for an mms work around as it basically uploads and holds a picture for a bit. and if the recipient doesn't have the app, all they get is a link. I haven't really tried the other types of mms through the app though.

    Still we want a solid fix.

    Back to the topic, anyone else found anything that might work?
     
  25. justin654

    justin654 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012

    Sep 13, 2012
    33
    0
    15
    So...Bump? Has anyone actually uncovered anything? It's weird to see this problem persist for so long.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...