1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Proxy settings

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jaybo1973, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    867
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Hi guys

    I know that android 2.2 does not have proxy settings. I just wondered if Gb might have it or weather there is an app that will allow it. I would like to access t'internet via the work server.

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hippotech

    Hippotech Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    68
    11
    18
    Various IT stuff and bits !
    Chelmsford, UK
    You could try Firefox - you can set proxy settings in that :

    To set a proxy server in Firefox 4 beta for Android:
    Type "about:config" in the address bar and press return.
    Type "proxy.http" into the search box on the about:config page.
    Tap on "network.proxy.http" and type the server name into the text box.
    Tap on "network.proxy.http_port" and type the port number into the number box.

    Opera may also have the option.

    Hippo
     
  3. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    867
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Nice one. Will this allow apps access too?
     
  4. Hippotech

    Hippotech Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    68
    11
    18
    Various IT stuff and bits !
    Chelmsford, UK
    I would say not - it's only for Firefox itself.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...