1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Pulling android memory

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by mariyamjohn25, Mar 10, 2016.

  1. mariyamjohn25

    mariyamjohn25 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016

    Jan 19, 2016
    8
    0
    5
    Female
    I was following a tutorial video in youtube to pull the android RAM using LiME tool...I installed jdk ,android studio and LiME in my ubuntu...I used a command - sudo ./adb pull /proc/config.gz .but I am getting an error message remote object '/proc/config.gz' does not exist...
    how can I resolve the problem.please help me.
     

    Advertisement

  2. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,840
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,840
    4,091
    708
    Illinois
    Try leaving out that ./ after sudo

    sudo adb pull /proc/config.gz
     
  3. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hmm, the OP's syntax looks right (to me) if the adb utility is in the current (present working directory) and it sounds like it really is the /proc/config.gz file doesn't exist vs. an issue with invoking adb itself.

    @mariyamjohn25, can you try this instead if @svim's suggestion doesn't work:

    ubuntu$ sudo ./adb shell
    $ ls -l /proc/config.gz
    $ ls -l -d /proc/config*
    $ exit
    ubuntu$

    That should show/display for you if the config.gz file actually exists in your /proc folder on your device. At the very least, it should tell us more about what is going on.

    Note: the above won't actually pull the file from your device, but will simply verify if the config.gz file exists on your device or not.

    Post back with a copy and paste of the results of the above and let us know.

    Cheers!
     
    El Presidente and mariyamjohn25 like this.
  4. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,840
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,840
    4,091
    708
    Illinois
    I have to wonder if that's necessary. In order to make ./adb work that is completely dependent on being in same directory as the adb binary. As long as adb was previously installed properly (i.e. /usr/bin) its path should enable it to just be started with just the adb command (sans ./)
     
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    ^^^ Agreed :).

    I'm just going by the gist of the warning/message he reported that seems to indicate that adb successfully launched, but couldn't find the file to pull.

    I don't have access to my Linux PC at the moment to verify that this is what happens (i.e., bad adb file path vs. file not found, etc.), but I can try when I get home.
     
    svim likes this.
  6. mariyamjohn25

    mariyamjohn25 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016

    Jan 19, 2016
    8
    0
    5
    Female
    @scary alien It seems like there is no such file or directory.I have also tried the location /boot/config...but this also showed the same error.How will I find the Kernel configuration file location?
     
  7. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,840
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,840
    4,091
    708
    Illinois
    mariyamjohn25 and scary alien like this.

Share This Page

Loading...