1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Pup or virus??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Codger47, Jul 31, 2017.

  1. Codger47

    Codger47 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017

    Jul 30, 2017
    10
    0
    25
    A harder and apparently quite common issue.

    There is a very annoying gambling popup which opens when I use Chrome or Firefox. At the bottom right there is a group of linked icons. I have not tested them as I don't trust the page. I can return to an open page by tapping the right arrow.

    What Have I tried?

    First checked settings applications, and found nothing unusual

    Then scanned the system with Avast antivirus and Malwarebytes. Also installed an ad blocker, then a popup blocker, both of which promised to remove all popups.. No malware or adware was detected and the blockers didn't block. Is this a virus or pup?

    I try to be careful with the apps I install, going through Google play store if possible. Whilst looking for a solution to this issue I read the claim that a lot of apps obtained through Google have pups.

    I have actually spent several hours on line trying to find a solution to this issue. If after a bit longer the problem persists, I will rest the device to factory settings, I would prefer to avoid that, but it will remove all third party software.

    Thank you in advance to whoever can sort this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. overlordror

    overlordror Well-Known Member
    Phandroid Staff
    Rank:
     #227
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    204
    306
    98
    If you're experiencing a pop up on a specific site in Chrome and Firefox, it's the site that is serving the ad to you, not your phone. If you don't want to see these ads, you'll need to enable a pop up blocker on Firefox. Chrome currently has no way to block ads natively on Android, but Google is working on it.
     
  3. Codger47

    Codger47 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017

    Jul 30, 2017
    10
    0
    25
    The issue is not restricted to any one site. Occurs on any on line window I am using, on both Chrome and Firefox

    Perhaps I was unclear; I installed an ad blocker, then a popup blocker, on BOTH Chrome and Firefox. Neither worked on either Chrome or Firefox.

    I'm afraid "Google is working on it" is unhelpful.
     
  4. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    2,182
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    2,182
    1,086
    443
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    Adguard... I use it and never an ad or popups
     
  5. Codger47

    Codger47 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017

    Jul 30, 2017
    10
    0
    25
    Is it free? if so, thanks I'll try it. I'll let you know what happens
     
  6. Codger47

    Codger47 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017

    Jul 30, 2017
    10
    0
    25
    Downloaded Adguard even though a little suspicious that it is not permitted to use Google play, and uses APK.

    Whilst setting it up, Adware insisted on being allowed to use a VPN. I Immediately uninstalled the application.

    A free VPN is pretty much worth what you pay for it. Instead of being the customer, you are the product; such apps tend to be data miners, as do most free VPN.
     
  7. Codger47

    Codger47 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017

    Jul 30, 2017
    10
    0
    25
    Oops; I DID download and install ,AdGuard'.
     
  8. Codger47

    Codger47 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017

    Jul 30, 2017
    10
    0
    25
    SOLVED

    Spent a lot more time searching on line, found the answer on another forum (I forget which )

    The problem was with ES File Explorer. Looks like something unwanted was added on a recent update. The function is called ES Swipe, and is listed on ES File , in the menu. ;

    Opened ES Swipe, and turned it off. Problem seems to be gone.
     
  9. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,527
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,527
    11,881
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Remove ES completely, there's been a lot of adware reports with it. Such is the price of "free".
     
  10. Codger47

    Codger47 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017

    Jul 30, 2017
    10
    0
    25
    Thank you, I'll do that. Can you suggest a safe, free, file manager?
     

Share This Page

Loading...