1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Push email settings keep changing?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Raines30, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I have my hotmail set up as a corporate sync account. My email account settings are to push email for this account. My other pop3 accounts I set to fetch mail every hour. It works great except that I noticed every once in a while my settings get changed. Push email changes to enabled for "no accounts" and the fetch schedule changes to 15 minutes. I have no idea why and the only thing I noticed is that it seems to happen when I have wifi on and mobile data off. I'm not positive about that. It is sporadic. It doesn't happen when I actually turn on wifi/turn off mobile data or vice versa. Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Have you got any Smart Actions rules set up? Maybe that is changing the settings.
     
  3. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    That is exactly what I was thinking because I have a smart action set up to disable mobile data when I am connected to my network at home. I noticed that once in a while in the notification bar it seems to drop the connection and pick it right back up and say network connection found. Anyway, I disabled the smart action to see if that stopped it but it did not. I turned off wifi last night and put mobile data on. It hasn't changed the settings since then, at least yet. I really hope this is not an issue with having wifi on and mobile data off since that is how I would like it to be when at home.
     
  4. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Why do you need a smart actions rule to disable mobile data when you use WiFi? WiFi disables mobile data upon connection to a hotspot anyway.
     
  5. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I thought that when connected to wifi anything that needs to use data would use that connection but it doesn't turn mobile data off. When I go into data manager after turning on wifi, the data (mobile network) enabled is still checked. I didn't think you would need to have both of them on and also thought it would help conserve battery. I also wanted to have them off at night for battery reasons and so I wouldn't get woken from email notifications.
     
  6. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    The fact that it is still checked, does not mean anything. It means data is not being used, beause a better connection is in use - WiFi.
     
  7. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Ok, that is good to know. I was reading that if you have a weaker signal that it was good to turn off the mobile data since it was searching harder for the signal. I must have misunderstood it.

    Anyway, that is still not creating my problem since I have disabled that smart action and something is still changing my settings. I had wifi and mobile data on all day and my settings were getting changed. I've had wifi off / mobile data on all evening and my settings have not been changed.
     
  8. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    This means you have a setting somewhere that changes sync when WiFi goes on and off. Look through all acount and sync settings and such.
     
  9. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I will check that but it doesn't actually happen when I turn wifi on or off. It is just random and it is only happening when wifi was on.
     
  10. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Check the settings and let me know. We will see what other options there are.
     
  11. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    Ok, I have looked through any settings I could find and do not see anything relating to changing my sync settings. I'm also not sure what I'm looking for though. I spent most of yesterday with just mobile data on and there were no changes to my settings. Put wifi on (left mobile data on) before bed last night. Woke up this morning and my settings were changed. I changed them back and then at least twice today have gone on the phone and the settings were changed again. Very confused. :thinking:
     
  12. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    What kind of account are you using and which application are you using to fetch it? I only have one exchange account and for the I find settings under Data Manager apart from the standard Accounts options.
     
  13. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I am using a corporate sync account for my @hotmail.com. I don't use any other application to fetch. I get to those settings by just opening the inbox for that account, then email settings/email delivery.

    The data push and fetch schedule are the ones that get changed. My wifi settings are:

    Attachment download
    download over wifi = checked
    only when charging = checked
    Email account (hotmail) = checked

    Snyc over Wi-Fi only
    Email account (hotmail) = not checked
     
  14. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Can you check what you have under Data Manager> Email and Corporat eSync>Email Delivery>Fetch Schedule and Data Push please?
     
  15. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I'm sorry. I meant to say that when I go through my inbox and then email settings it takes me to the same place as going through data manager. Those are my settings.
     
  16. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    I don't know then. I thought maybe there were some extra settings, but cannot remember how I accessed them. I suppose this is a function that can/ cannot be disabled and the problem is to find it on the phone.
     
  17. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I think I've noticed one thing that is causing it. I turned off wifi and mobile data last night before bed. I woke up this morning and the settings were changed. I changed them back but did not turn on any connection. I went back in to the settings and they were changed again. I did this numerous times and the settings kept changing. So I think that when there is no data connection the settings are getting changed. Is this normal?

    What I don't understand is why is it happening during the day when I have wifi and mobile data on? Can something be causing the phone to think it doesn't have a data connection at certain times. I can understand the mobile data losing connection but I have wifi on as well and I am at home connected to my network.

    The other thing that I have noticed before was that when I have my data on that sometimes just the fetch schedule would change and not the push. That doesn't coincide with what I found this morning with them both changing everytime because of (I think) no data connection.
     
  18. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Have you checked if your WiFi Sleep Policy is set to never? Make sure it is set for that as otherwise when you have WiFi on and phone goes to sleep it will turn on WiFi and may take longer to get data back on and then it happens.

    Just a wild guess, but worth a try.
     
  19. Raines30

    Raines30 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    My wifi sleep policy is set to never. Any chance the stock phones corporate sync app, client (not sure what you call it) is causing it's own problem?
     
  20. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    It might. A good way to check would be to try a 3rd party exchange client.
     
  21. Firehawk295

    Firehawk295 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    this happens frequently with my email accounts thru my telco provider too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...