1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Qik has an update in market, but installs a second app

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andro21, Nov 6, 2010.

  1. andro21

    andro21 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    i tried to download the qik app on the market because its an update, but instead of removing the old app or just updating it, it installs a second app right next to it. has anyone else noticed this? can anyone give any advice as to how to get it to do what others apps do (just updates ur current)?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    What did it add?
     
  3. andro21

    andro21 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    a second qik app
     
  4. MikeU

    MikeU Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Qik 03.72 installed on EVO out of the box is 1.19MB. I installed Qik 03.765 from Market. It installed as a second app (both versions are in the app list) and is the size is 9.61MB, although Market claims it's 4.93MB.
     
  5. andro21

    andro21 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    exactly. any way around this issue?
     
  6. andro21

    andro21 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    so i take it we are going to be stuck with non-update-able programs on our phone-- specifically qik, if not other apps, as well? great job android...
     
  7. treborcj

    treborcj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    646
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    646
    33
    68
    That's crap. Good thing I removed qik and went to fring yesterday.
     
  8. dreahdreah

    dreahdreah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    98
    2
    16
    Seattle
    never understood why this app did this. youtube, google maps & gmail didn't when you downloaded from the market..is it because they are google apps? i have never used the qik app, so now i don't know which is which, lol...is there any difference between the two?
     
  9. andro21

    andro21 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    how did u remove qik? i wud love to do that
     
  10. andro21

    andro21 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    i called htc and they basically said if enough people complain about it, MAYBE some will care. its the only app on the phone that ive noticed which adds a second app to the icon list... simple oversight that can be fixed fairly quickly, id assume, being that other apps like facebook, google stuff, youtube, etc, all seem to remove the old icon or directly update the preexisting app. htc also said if forum moderators noticed this, maybe they can bring it up to people at htc who can tell qik about it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...