1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Qik sideloaded.... Video chat is a go!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by prerunnerseth, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    I got Qik side loaded. Both cameras are working great. getting a friend to fire up his Evo for a video chat. will report back if everything works well.

    This is the EVO version that I side Loaded. I see an Evo version on the market but, Can't seem to load it through the market.
     

    Advertisement

    TomXP411 likes this.
  2. Yellow Snowman

    Yellow Snowman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    344
    40
    43
    so you just d/l Qik and video chat was a go? that easy?
     
  3. rushman

    rushman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    Can you post up the APK or provide a link? The evo 4g one in the market will not install directly from market.
     
  4. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    No, you need the EVO version.

    Since it is free on the Market this shouldnt be a violation of the AF TOS. So here is a link.

    Qik-videochat.apk
     
  5. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    My buddy's evo has a dead battery... so if someone gets it loaded and wants to try let me know. no perv stuff... Im a overweight married middle aged man. HAHAHA... just want to test it out.
     
  6. rushman

    rushman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    Thanks DL'ing now
     
  7. RadYOacTiVe

    RadYOacTiVe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,588
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,588
    416
    163
    Male
    Looking forward to hearing how well it works.

     
  8. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    my friend is at work and cant get a chance to try it out... anyone out there get it loaded and want to test it out?
     
  9. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    Yahoo is also working... I am also attempting to test Fring in a cross-platform video chat with my friends Iphone4
     
  10. Odinist

    Odinist Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    149
    36
    43
    IT
    Okc, OK
    I've played with Tango a bit today, worked okay. But, I'm in a basement office and are only getting 2ish bars of 3G.

    I'll see if I can't get the Evo's version of Qik installed, and I'll play around a bit with it after I'm off work (and am awash in LTE signal).
     
  11. ckelly33

    ckelly33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    808
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    808
    146
    93
    CRNA
    Tennessee
    Does Google talk not work for video? It works for video on my xoom.
     
  12. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    Havnt tried it. Fring seems to want to use the rear camera and I can't find an option to select a different one. Might have to try google talk. I was really hoping for Fring to work since they have support for Iphone4 as well.
     
  13. TomXP411

    TomXP411 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    98
    15
    18
    Can you Qik chat with someone on a PC, or just another Qik-equipped phon?
     
  14. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    Looks like only phone to phone... but I confirmed Yahoo video chat form phone to PC....
     
  15. TomXP411

    TomXP411 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    98
    15
    18
    Google Talk with video is pretty nice on Honeycomb, but the video and voice component is apparently not there for Android 2.x devices.
     
  16. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    Ahhh... well Yahoo works well in the mean time.. and qik for phone to phone. I'm just looking for a solution to talk to my friends with Iphone4's.
     
  17. Odinist

    Odinist Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    149
    36
    43
    IT
    Okc, OK
  18. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    Just made a successful Tango video call with my friend who has an Iphone. Pretty sweeeet.
     
  19. Flyness163

    Flyness163 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    36
    3
    16
    ATL
    Is Yahoo working well for you?, keeps force closing on me
     
  20. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    I had no problem with it.
     
  21. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Another vote for Tango. Does your front camera work with it?
     
  22. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    Yes! worked perfectly.
     
  23. Bert336

    Bert336 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    64
    7
    16
    tango video worked fine for me, except i could only hear the other persons voice, they couldnt hear me. hmm... Ihorne4 vs TB
     
  24. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    I got Tango to work but I think you ahve to call the person ahead of time and tell them to open tango or else nothing happens. I got video but on both ends there was just horrible high pitched noises

    Tested it with my TB and my roomtes EVO... I thought maybe since we were both on the same WiFi that was the issue but even when I went to 4G it was the same... Also tried to do a video chat via my TB and my Gtab and the same thing happened and about 15sec in my GTab force closes
     
  25. rigor

    rigor Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    51
    10
    18
    I too just seem to get weird high pitched audio noise in Tango or Yahoo video. This is calling from my TBolt to my wife's. Think we tried both Wi-Fi & LTE. Any one know how to correct this ?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...