1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Quake III on Evo

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ODog2323, Jul 10, 2010.

  1. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    510
    41
    68
    NJ, USA
    I wanted to see what this phone could really do when pushed, so I went and got the Quake 3 apk for android and went through the installation process. While I was able to get the game running it was pretty unusable. I've seen many videos of this game running much nicer on some older devices...

    My questions is then what am I missing here, or is the Evo just not cut out for this kind of action??

    I did kill all my tasks, and that made things better, but still far from playable.

    Anyone else do any experimenting with this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    It's not. Psp ftw!
     
  3. newone757

    newone757 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    356
    134
    68
    30 fps cap probably
     
    zamardii12 likes this.
  4. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    354
    73
    53
    the gpu on the evo sucks. the only down fall of the phone. and its only a downfall if you wanna play games on your phone. some do some dont. i know i would love to have some games on my evo like the iphone has. everyone is gonna say get a psp or why would you wanna play games on your cell phone but for me its nice to have everything all in one package. i hope htcs next evo has a better gpu
     
  5. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    182
    7
    36
    I guess that means we won't be seeing anything like Archetype on the Evo...
     
  6. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    510
    41
    68
    NJ, USA
    Bummer, I agree. I'm not a huge phone gamer, but every so often those more graphically intense games and apps are great.

    Maybe we'll see some performance boost with Froyo at least?
     
  7. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    182
    7
    36
    Yeah I never play games on my phones but I have to admit watching my coworkers play Archetype it looked pretty cool. Oh well.
     
  8. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    4,087
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    4,087
    2,667
    533
    Female
    AZ
    The new Samsung galaxy S series is supposed to be more game friendly, if that is important to you. I am not much of a game player except on my pc.
     
  9. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
    As others have stated, the 30fps cap will make Q3 unplayable.
     
  10. Neplusultra

    Neplusultra Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Network Technician
    Dallas, TX
    Froyo will increase performance, but shooters will not be the best quality as long as our fps is capped.

    Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk.
     
  11. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    182
    7
    36
    I'm not convinced the fps cap would cause it to be unplayable. 30fps is plenty for a first person shooter on a phone. Sounds like our GPU is just a little gimpy.
     
  12. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
    30fps is not good enough for Q3, sorry. Unless of course you're used to losing.
     
  13. zamardii12

    zamardii12 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    169
    65
    53
    It's the FPS Cap...
     
  14. newone757

    newone757 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    356
    134
    68

    30 fps is not "good enough" for any 3d game, let alone a fast one like any fps. not to mention its not even a constant 30 fps, it jumps all over the place
     
  15. ExigeDriver

    ExigeDriver Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    Engineer
    Bay Area, CA
    isn't Halo3 30fps?
     
  16. r3dDaWn

    r3dDaWn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    44
    8
    16
    Dallas
    Actually, code is a big part of this as well. If you look at a game such as Exzeus, that is a very intense, beautiful game that runs very well on the Evo. The game's code is very optimized, they even went beyond Android's memory set limitation, all via how they wrote the code, and if you run it on your Evo, you can see a very detailed, high quality graphics, type game, that plays with that 30fps cap. Now not all games will have developers that can code as well as these guy's, but it does show, that if coders did a better job, the gpu won't be as big of an issue for Evo owners as it is currently with some games.. Quake 3 though isn't even optimized, it's a "code of concept" game, and I have no idea if the developer is going to continue working on it or not, plays okay on the Droid, nothing to write mom about though...
     
  17. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    Correction, the 30 FPS cap is due to wonky and half-written drivers from HTC. They are actually refusing to fix this, and are following suit with, "This was intentional, because of the HDMI port.". That's BS, because XDA got it WELL over 30, even with butt ****ed drivers, and the HDMI out works. Go figure. We bought broken phones, that are going to remain broken. That is, unless you're willing to go out and spend time to root it.
     
  18. newone757

    newone757 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    356
    134
    68
    yea.
     
  19. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
  20. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    396
    64
    53
    Guys, the 30fps cap is not the issue here, it's not even running at 30fps. Stop blaming every single issue on the 30fps cap.
     
    tmaxey1 and ODog2323 like this.
  21. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    510
    41
    68
    NJ, USA
    I agree 30fps is nothing like a good console or PC experience, but i don't think that issue is in play here at all. This was more akin to watching a slideshow than measuring fps :)
     
  22. kaisies

    kaisies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    102
    27
    43
  23. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
    I grabbed the first HD video I noticed. I wasn't concerned about map control or how terrible his opponents were ;P

    Do you play on QL?
     
  24. geomens

    geomens Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    98
    6
    16
    Government worker
    South Florida
    Just a correction here, some people bought a broken phone because it does not do what they expect it to do, others bought a phone that does what they expect it to do and therefore to them, the phone is not broken.
     
  25. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    912
    206
    113
    ^That.

    It'd be one thing if specs were released that stated 60fps, but specs were NOT released. Nothing's broken on the phone.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...