1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Question aboot Root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Evo4sickness, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    Iam suppose to download Titanium back up to back all my apps and info. And will it back up all my contacs that arent in my gmail and my apps that arent on the Sd card. I finally want to Root but dont want **** up my Evo. Any other info or advice for a first time Rooter. I read the FAQs on the sticky but just want to make sure everything is done right.

    And Iam going to have an issue with rooting with firmware 3.30.651.3 and what version of Unrevoked do I need to use.
     

    Advertisement

  2. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Titanium Backup is a root only app, so you won't be able to use it until you've rooted. I suggest you read ROOTING For Dummies + Extra's if you haven't already to familiarize yourself w/ the process and terminology.

    As for your build, no, you won't have an issue rooting your phone using unrevoked's one click method.

    The guide I referenced above will walk you through everything, so no worries there. If you need any additional assistance, we're all here to help! Happy Rooting!
     
  3. Knewz

    Knewz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    821
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    821
    72
    78
    Tech
    Georgia
    If you just want the apps to be backed up use AppBrain. With rooting/flashing/modding you always take a risk, just comes with the territory. There really is no way for anyont to be sure you are doing everything exactly right without physically being there. But thanks to unrevoked the hardest part of rooting an Evo is clicking. So unless you don't have any fingers i dont see many complications for you, pre-root anyways.
     
  4. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    OK thanks another question what is pre rooting I can tell from the name its like a practice of rooting but how would I do that.
     
  5. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    OK thanks you very much Iam going to start reading it right now. So Iam guessing Titanium back up so before you install a Rom or Kernal right. Because just rooting with the stock rom wont affect any of my Call logs, caches or phone setting right. And How would I get the badass X in google colors boot screen.

    Yeah In had already read that still had some quedtions.
    And mybackuppro is the best back up before I root right.
    Do you know if the CynogenMod7 finally was able to get 4g and wifi fixed. And on the stock Rom is it possible to load custom Boot screens. And will I be loosing anything else that you have when your unrooted
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    1. titanium backup is mainly meant to backup all of your apps and their data. before you flash a rom you want to make a nandroid backup through your recovery. i unfortunately when before you flash a new rom you should be doing a full wipe (data, cache and dalvik cache). this ensures that you have a clean slate for the new rom to be flashed. however, you will loose all data like call logs and such by doing it.

    2. not sure on the boot screen, but you can head over to xda EVO 4G Themes and Apps - xda-developers and do a search. odds are it will be there.

    3. cm7 does now have 4g working as well as wifi.

    4.on a rooted stock rom, you should be able to add a splash screen as well as boot animations. the search the thread above for them.
     
  7. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    Ok that allot more info thanks. I think the one Iam looking for is splash. I just rooted abput 20 minutes ago. I looked at the boot screen that the S is off. Do you know what that means and how to turn it on. Also went into superuser and saw its blank. I jist read that thats normal untill I have Apps that require root. But I have seen in many vieeos where people have a huge list. And I thought I would be able to control appearance aspects of my phone.
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok so you want s-off. by rooting it does two things:
    1.s-off which means that you have turned off security and that will allow you to make changes to your phone.
    2.unlocks nand. this enables you to make nadroid backups as well as make changes to your phone (ie fashing roms)

    so s-off is good! congrats:D

    ok so superuser app basically allows certain apps to run on your phone. you have to click on an app like titanium backup to allow for it to be used. once you allow it or give permission, you will see it listed in the superuser app.

    as far as appearances of your phone:
    if you are talking about theming your phone or making modifications to your phone, there is no app for that. most roms are already themed but some also have a ton of different themes that you will have to flash in addition to the rom.
     
  9. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    Ok nice yeah I already downloaded the WIFI teather and Iam using right now on my computer to write this message. The WIFI teather works great except I cant make it a secure connection would you happen to know how. Wow I sound like a noob and half. Should have rooted a while back just didnt really see the reason enough for it.

    Now the FULL HDMI Is out and you need Root and that CNOGEN Mod7 now had the mouse pointer thats what I want do next Now question when you rooted your Evo did you see a point in the reflash that the screen showed lines that were all messed up and for second I thought I had just bricked my phone. Because I didnt see that happened to any one else in any of the rooted videos. Thanks again
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah those lines are found when you reboot in recovery, if im not mistaken on what you are talking about. that is perfectly normal.

    my next step is to buy a wii remote and connect my evo to my tv and play some zelda!

    one suggestion: do not use rom manager if you use it at all. it can be very buggy and has been known to cause issues. i would do everything manually in recovery.

    edit:also please make nandroid backups. it is going to be your best friend. if things go bad you can always go to your backup and all is good.
     
  11. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    The lines were red and blue and allot white ones that look when you break a tv I
    I really though I had just briked my phone. And what was crazy i didnt even have to do all the steps that I was fallowing on the video I had just watched on youtube. Iam guessing because it was a newer version of unrevoked. Thanks for the info on rom manager but I still have to read up on how to install roms and kernals
     
  12. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    You can make it a secure connection. Go to menu while u have the app on your screen and select encryption .. u can also change.the password if you like
     
  13. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    I saw that but than where do I go to put the info on the computer because it would jist tell me ot was a secure connection after I clocked on it
     
  14. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    well your pc allready have the connection established so you wont be asked.. but if some one logs on your network your phone will come on and list that pc's name.. it happen to me so thats when i turned on the encryption never happend again
     
  15. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    Right isnt there some where on the computer to insert the info you put in on the phone
    for the password and wap key.
     
  16. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    Ya right click android tether
     
  17. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    Ok I wil try that
     
  18. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    Well. If your just trying to view this info go that route.. if you trying to change something it has to be done through the phone. I still don't know what u are trying to accomplish
     
  19. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    Ok what Iam trying to have is an encrypted connection so others cant steal it. Just like when your have to write in a network way key to first be able to connect to your router. Thats what I was trying to acomplish.
     
  20. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    Ok well being that your app connected. To your PC (the first time u used the app) when there was no security set up your PC has stored the info. Now u have enabled encryption ......



    When you right click the android tether it will allow u to view the wpa wpa2 key.... it by default is set to : abcdefghij. You can change this pass key in your phones wireless tether app if u like.

    If u have another lap top or smart phone (after u have enabled encription) look up avalible networks and u will see yours (android tether) is secured with wpa wpa2 (or what ever it is....) and they wont be able to access your network with out your pass phrase
     
  21. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    I am editing my last. Post
     
  22. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    Just edited my last post
     
  23. Evo4sickness

    Evo4sickness Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    459
    7
    36
    Thanks that answered my question.
     
  24. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    Another satisfied customer @phandroid. PS hit the thanks button it will make me feel better .... trying to catch up to Mr. ED
    LOL
     
    Evo4sickness and ocnbrze like this.
  25. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    nice job beastin!!!
    might i make another suggestion: do not use either rom manager or the new kernel manager. get used to using your recovery and do everything manually.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...