1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Question about Carriers for Nexus S

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lu the Ruler, Jun 27, 2011.

1. Lu the Ruler

Lu the Ruler Lurker
    None

Jun 27, 2011
    I'm new to the cell phone world so I really don't know a lot and depending on you guys' answers the Nexus S will be my first cell phone. Thanks in advance to whoever answers my questions.

Is it possible for the Sprint Nexus S to work with metro PCS?
    I'm wondering if it would be possible for me to buy the phone and use Metro PCS as my carrier instead of sprint.

Can I get an unlocked Nexus S 4G?

If I get an unlocked Nexus S (t-mobile version) can I use it with other Carriers other than t-mobile, sprint, at&t, and version? If so can you guys name some? I live in NY so name those that are available in the NY state/NYC area.

Thanks. :)

Advertisement

2. Lu the Ruler

Lu the Ruler Lurker
    None

Jun 27, 2011
    OK, I did a bit of research myself. The GSM Nexus S should work with other GSM carriers so what I need to know is if it is possible to get an unlocked CDMA Nexus S so that I can use it with Metro PCS. Which brings up another question, would Metro PCS allow me to use the Nexus S on their service?

3. BenChase7

BenChase7 Android Expert
    None

Jun 16, 2010
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    All of the above are highly doubtful. If you want Sprint and a 4G Nexus S, get the Sprint version (the unlimited data is nice on Sprint, and 4G if you're in a 4G coverage area). If you want T-mo, get their version (3G only, and throttled data).

4. Lu the Ruler

Lu the Ruler Lurker
    None

Jun 27, 2011
    So If I get the unlocked T-mobile version I can't use it with other sim cards?

5. Aerie

Aerie Lurker
    None

Oct 4, 2010