1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Question About Disabling AT&T Hot Spot

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by PGB1213, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. PGB1213

    PGB1213 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #476
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016

    May 20, 2016
    39
    23
    28
    Hi All!
    I have a ZTE Z812 using Android 5.1 on AT&T. One of the features they provided with the phone is called "AT&T Hot Spot". The intention of the app is to automatically connect you to a free AT&T wifi hotspot at one of their participating partner locations such as Starbucks. But there is a catch: You have to have a data plan that costs over a certain amount per month to connect. I do not have a data plan, so it is not useful to me.

    Actually, even with GPS & WiFi off, if I am near one of the participating locations, the phone pops up a message telling me what a chump I am because I don't have a data plan & can't connect.

    While looking at my running apps to see why my battery life is so short, I came across this app. I wanted to stop it and to disable it. The app has no place to disable it. If I stop it, it starts right back up. Location (GPS) and WiFi are off on my phone. The settings screen shows it is using 1.6 MB. The sub- apps on the Hot Spot screen are WispService and com.matchboxmobile.wisp.

    I tried to see if there was a work-around to stop the app from auto-starting, but only found internet posts for how to get this app installed on phones that do not already have it. I asked AT&T. You can probably guess how that went: "Buy a data plan. You need it." was as far as I could get with the rep. (Just doing his job)

    Have any of you ever had the opportunity to disable this 'always on' app? I'd love to tame it.

    Thanks For Sharing Your Experience,
    Paul
     

    Advertisement

    tapatalk likes this.
  2. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,072
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,072
    1,028
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    PGB1213 likes this.
  3. PGB1213

    PGB1213 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #476
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016

    May 20, 2016
    39
    23
    28
    Thanks, Electricpete for taking time to reply with ideas. I appreciate your help!
    Yep- I tried Settings & can't disable it there. (Nor can I disable the many ZTE apps that don't work). I'll look into the linked app you provided and experiment around. Thanks for providing it.

    When I am more comfortable with Android in general, I probably will end up rooting the phone. There is a lot of stuff I'd like to do and am locked out of doing either by AT&T or ZTE. I guess I have used Mac computers so long that I am used to being in total control of my devices, so why not carry this mind-set over to the phone? So far, however, I like Android quite a bit and enjoy learning about it.

    Enjoy This Day!
    Paul
     
  4. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,130
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,130
    3,052
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Check in Settings - WiFi - Advanced and see if you have anything you can uncheck or turn off, like always scanning or other settings.

    This is what it looks like on my Motorola.
     

    Attached Files:

    PGB1213 likes this.
  5. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,130
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,130
    3,052
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    This is the Advanced WiFi menu on a AT&T S4.
    I usually uncheck everything.
     

    Attached Files:

    PGB1213, electricpete and lunatic59 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...