1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Question about flashing zips

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by WormDoes, Nov 14, 2010.

  1. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I've searched this forum, xda and google for an answer to this and haven't found one. Hopefully someone will be able to answer this for me. Do you need to be rooted to flash zip files? Probably a stupid question but I thought since HBOOT is accessable without root that maybe renaming the zip would work? I'm not trying to flash a rom or theme I'm trying to flash a font that I just noticed was still on my SD card when I transfered from my Eris. The font is comfortaa which is awesome and I would love to be able to use it on my Inc Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    30 views and no responses?? Is this question really that dumb? [​IMG] Or does no one know? I literally have no clue about anything HBOOT so before I start screwing around I'd like to try and find a definative answer
     
  3. dscribe

    dscribe Android Expert
    Rank:
     #248
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    818
    140
    93
    Camden, AR, USA
    You have to flash fonts in clockwork recovery so, no, you cannot install that without root.
     
    WormDoes likes this.
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I figured I'd need to root but didn't hurt to ask. Thanks for responding
     
  5. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    We use Clockwork's custom recovery to flash .zips, which requires root to install, so yes, you have to root. Unrevoked's root tool installs Clockwork at the same time, too.
     
  6. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Last I checked unrEVOked wasn't working on phones that installed the latest OTA. I'm still not sure I even want to root, I would only remove bloat, use setCPU and install fonts, so I'm not sure It's worth it, IMO. I'm very happy with sense and I'm not interested in custom ROM's.
     

Share This Page

Loading...