1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Question about GALAXO

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Stephen289, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. Stephen289

    Stephen289 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Alright this may have been asked a few times, or maybe it could not of been asked. I just can't find the thread related to answering this question.
    Okay so my question is, can I flash Galaxo 1.6.2 or GAOSP "without" ODIN flashing or updating my firmware to 1.6? and not then what consequences would occur if I don't flash firmware update before GALAXO 1.6.2 flash. My phone firmware version is I7500ZHJA1 and I believe that is the latest firmware for my region which is still Android 1.5. Cheers~
     

    Advertisement

  2. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
    Galaxo 1.6.2 requires JC6 Odin flash.


    GAOSP doesn't require specific firmware because it provides everything from the Source (except Google apps ofc) and uses existing baseband.
     
  3. Stephen289

    Stephen289 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    really, thats strange, because I managed to flash 1.6.2 onto my exisitng firmware once and it seemed fine, though I didn't play with it long enough before reverting back to backup. Okay I guess I'll flash JC6 next time, and also if I do flash JC6, would it remove my pre-existing Locales?
     
  4. dsyzug

    dsyzug Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    59
    4
    16
    Research(Mathematics)
    India
  5. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    183
    12
    38
    Austria
    it is not absolutely neccesary to flash jc6, only part that stays is baseband which is working with any version of os...
     
  6. Andronix

    Andronix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    676
    16
    63
    You're right, before it was needed to flash original firmware prior updating to galaxo.
     
  7. roa

    roa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009

    Aug 11, 2009
    12
    1
    16
    Is it possible to update baseband without ODIN? I flashed Galaxo 1.6.2 using recovery (as described here: Flash rom Galaxo 1.6.2 and 1.6.1 - Windows tutorial - Samsung Galaxy ), and I guess that 1.6.3 will be similar.

    How can I flash baseband only?

    I still have XXII5 baseband. Is it known what features/fixes does the newer baseband have?
     
  8. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    183
    12
    38
    Austria
    it is possible to flash baseband only WITH odin, just you have to build a valid i7500xxxxxxphone.tar file which is easiest made by using total commander and replacing amss file from a multipart firmware with the one u want to use. but if you have no troubles with the phone (3g bug or no sleep bug) i
     
  9. coldice

    coldice Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    11
    2
    36
  10. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    183
    12
    38
    Austria
    but be aware that newer baseband versions feature different bugs... atm i am running on ik4 without problems, i flashed with odin 4.16. before i had issues with this one using odin 4.03... just do your own tests and use what works best for you with best battery usage...
     
  11. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    can you elaborate on what you mean "before i had issues with this one using odin 4.03"

    and "atm i am running on ik4 without problem"
     
  12. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    183
    12
    38
    Austria
    i did not want to go into detail, but i am using italy custom rom (1.5) and with basebands newer than ik4 i had problems with 3g and with jc versions i had no sleep bug what makes me assume no sleep has its origin in the baseband. however some people did tests with 1.6 and old basebands where some of them (at least one) say they have expirienced the bug also with old baseband. also it seemed to me that when i used odin 4.16 the problems did not occure on every flash, so maybe odin is the cause for that, but its all just my assumptions, i could be completely wrong also...
     
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    odin cannot cause this. the tool cannot affect the phone firmware in this way.

    I thought as much that you were running cupcake again as the nosleep in unavoidable in 1.6 regardless of baseband.
    there are no sleep issues in cupcake aswell but the trigger is usually a wayward app that has got its nickers in a twist.
    I certainly know that from g6 to ik4 there was nothing obvious if it did ever occur.
    the version of odin is a redherring, the newer versions that come out are for support of the newer samsung models as its made by them (although 4.03 seems to be a re-hack by some russian)

    basically baseband is not much to do with it in my honest opinion, radio stack can cause issues but i think its a mixture of things. add that to the complete randomness of the behaviour itself its easy to see how people get into making that assumption.

    we are all making assuptions to be fair but i just cannot see how its anything to do with odin or baseband
     
  14. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    183
    12
    38
    Austria
    but i can easily reproduce this issue by flashing jc6 or jc4 baseband and changing nothing else on my phone, so can you tell me how this can not be related to basebands at least in some of the cases?

    edit: also the bug was no reason for me to revert to 1.5, just wanted to test wifi tether and some other features not enabled in 1.6.2 due to missing kernel sources
     

Share This Page

Loading...