1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Question about hboot 2.10

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by YamiR6, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. YamiR6

    YamiR6 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    IT Specialist
    Tampa,FL
    I was looking at a post back in december that said hboot 2.10 isn't compatible but on the rooting for dummies it says that it now is. Has anyone tested this. Let me know because if that was the case I'm going to root my phone using unrevoked.
     

    Advertisement

  2. stevcha

    stevcha Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    856
    274
    113
  3. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Yes, it is compatible. Follow the directions given in the Rooting for Dummies thread, and you'll be good to go. A lot of people have done it, and it is known to work fine.
     
  4. Hunterbeav

    Hunterbeav Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    373
    38
    43
    Home Care Nurse
    Notheast Ohio
    if I could do it anyone can...it worked fine
     
  5. YamiR6

    YamiR6 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    IT Specialist
    Tampa,FL
    I did do the rooting for dummies on my phone worked great but my friends phone when i plug it in and run the program its gets to that point and just sits there. Wont install the program the whole process takes like 5 minutes tops. from start to finish.
     
  6. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Where exactly did it get stuck? What did unrevoked say, and what did you see on the phone?
     
  7. YamiR6

    YamiR6 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    IT Specialist
    Tampa,FL
    Phone was idle and the program was stuck saying installing unrevoked3 and just say there for 10 minutes. On my phone went through process and was done but his which is same boot stops there.
     
  8. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Did the phone reboot at all? How far into the process did it get?
     
  9. YamiR6

    YamiR6 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    IT Specialist
    Tampa,FL
    It never rebooted. If i closed the unrevoked after waiting 15 minutes the phone was last at where it was once I first plugged it in.
     
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    did you try running it again?
     
  11. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Yes, try running it again. I assume you followed all the instructions about HTC sync, virus scanner, etc.? Sometimes you even have to install, then uninstall HTC sync if it doesn't seem to get far.
     
  12. YamiR6

    YamiR6 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    IT Specialist
    Tampa,FL
    I ran it three times. So your saying that i need to install htc sync and then uninstall it off my pc?

    What boggles me is when i used it on my phone everything went through fine. When I used it on my roommates phone is when this problem occured.
     
  13. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,418
    1,387
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Start with that. There's a few other things you can try, but that's one of the easiest. You did set up the drivers right?
     
  14. M5Rahul

    M5Rahul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    149
    12
    38
    DFW TX
    Try on a different computer... I remember having to use a diff pc when JB'ing my cousin's iPhone as it simply wouldn't happen on mine!

    I have hboot 2.10 on my hw version 004 Evo and the rooting process went thru with zero issues.
     
  15. JohnnyMack

    JohnnyMack Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    23
    5
    16
    Minnesnowta
    I've rooted 6 Evo's off the same laptop I originally rooted mine on.. and it seems that everytime I connect an Evo to my laptop, it downloads the correct driver automatically? I always go thru the process just to be safe is that normal?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...