1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Question about home button

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Europa76, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. Europa76

    Europa76 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    ...
    I'm thinking of buying this smartphone. I just have one concern. I find the dedicated search button on my HTC very very useful. The search button is obviously missing on Samsung G2, but I heard that the hardware home button actually works as search when pressed and held. Can you confirm it really works that way? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. SMFire

    SMFire Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    18
    1
    16
    Bradford
    The capacitive menu button doubles up as a search button. Not the home button
     
  3. Europa76

    Europa76 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    44
    0
    35
    ...
    Thanks. So what does the home button do when pressed and held or double pressed??
     
  4. N1vag

    N1vag Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    65
    4
    16
    If you press and hold the home button it goes to a list of the most recently used apps and if you double tap it it goes to the voice controls (which can be disabled).
     
    Europa76 likes this.
  5. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    516
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    516
    44
    68
    MENU touch & held = search feature :)
     
  6. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    How do I disable this? Getting right on my nerves, the voice controls popping up.
     
  7. stevehy

    stevehy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    191
    19
    38
    NJ, USA
    Settings, motion, uncheck double tap.
     
  8. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    That's the facility to "double tap" the whole phone, not to double press the home button.
     
  9. stevehy

    stevehy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    191
    19
    38
    NJ, USA
    If you look at what is says by the check box:

     
  10. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
     
  11. stevehy

    stevehy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    191
    19
    38
    NJ, USA
    I thought that about tapping the top of the phone also, but have you ever tried that? It does not work. Other than rooting and installing new kernel I know of no other way to disable this.
    I am obviously wrong about the motion uncheck.
     
  12. sleeco

    sleeco Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    241
    46
    63
    Leeds UK.
    Double tapping my home button brings up "Voice Talk"
     
  13. brykins

    brykins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    647
    77
    98
    Peterborough, UK
    I have tried it, and no - I couldn't get it to work either!

    Looks like we are stuck with the double-press home key anyway ([Q] Change the double-press home key? - xda-developers) which is a shame considering Android is supposed to be customisable to how we want to use our devices, and some of us just don't want to TALK to the damn things.
     
  14. stevehy

    stevehy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    191
    19
    38
    NJ, USA
    Actually, don
     
  15. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    516
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    516
    44
    68
     
  16. stevehy

    stevehy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    191
    19
    38
    NJ, USA
    Yes, that is Samsung
     
  17. Peninsula

    Peninsula Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    23
    1
    16
    London, UK
    To switch from Vlingo to Google: Settings > Voice input and output > Voice Recognition.
     
  18. stevehy

    stevehy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    191
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    191
    19
    38
    NJ, USA
    Does not change the home button mappings, still remains as Vlingo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...