1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Question about non data line.

Discussion in 'Verizon' started by rcozzi, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. rcozzi

    rcozzi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    89
    8
    16
    One of our Verizon lines is non data. My question is. If I buy a used LG Ally can it be activated on that line without having to add data capabilities?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,663
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nope. Verizon requires data on smart phones and will add it as soon as the phone is activated. Their system will recognize it and automatically pop a data plan on there.
     
  3. rcozzi

    rcozzi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    89
    8
    16
    I guess verizon is much different than sprint. I just helped my brother today switch his sim card out of a non data phone into an Iphone 3, and got it running just fine and even has wireless access while activated on a non data account. I guess the issue here would be that the phones I am talking about do not use sime cards and a person would have to call in to activate.
     
  4. nkk

    nkk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    758
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    758
    565
    163
    Not on sprint you didn't. From what I understand (and that may not be a lot) all four of the big 4 carriers require this.

    -Nkk
     
  5. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    ....that and Sprint doesn't use SIM cards. An iPhone or any subsidized Android smartphone activated on any of the big carriers will automatically trigger the addition of a data plan.
     
  6. rcozzi

    rcozzi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    89
    8
    16
    I stand corrected. I called my brother and found that he is on ATT not Sprint (other than Verizon they're all the same to me). I also warned him that he may have to explain to his boss about an automatic upgrade to a data plan. He's okay with that but doesn't need the data plan so we'll wait and see. If he gets away with it I'll let you know.
     
  7. dirkbonn

    dirkbonn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    888
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    888
    116
    93
    Male
    Honolulu, HI
    I think AT&T is simular to Verizon in that when a smartphone is activated on thier network, it will automaticly add the data plan to the account.

    Best of luck,
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Yeah that makes sense. You can do it but once AT&T finds out they will add the plan to the account or cancel the accout whichever they choose. IIRC GSM phones are not as easy for the carrier to identify compared to CDMA phones, but once they do they can take action per the contract, which is a risk some people will decide to take. Luckly for your brother they tend to add the plan to the account most of the time, either way I would think it could get him fired if it is a company supplied phone he took the SIM out of.
     
  9. rcozzi

    rcozzi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    89
    8
    16
    No chance he''ll get fired they knew he had gotten a different phone to switch to. He was waiting to hear back about the data usage adder. He has a good relationship and doesn't think it would be strained by "accidentally" initiating a data plan.
     
  10. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    That is good to hear. I've seen some pretty crappy companies but I assume the worse that could happen for him is he would need to pay for the additional fees.
     
  11. andr01d

    andr01d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    512
    94
    98
    androidland
    ^^^^^ hmm... that's a pretty strange company phone with no data plan(?) :)

    edit: we need to liberate (or occupy them) until they have data plan and hotspot for everyone there :D
     
  12. rcozzi

    rcozzi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    89
    8
    16

    He is an apartment mgr. required to have a cell phone and gets reimbursed for the plan.
     
  13. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Not really. If you have a job where you are on call often but don't need access to company email why should they pay for you to have a smartphone?
     

Share This Page

Loading...