1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Question about Roms

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jcheney10, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. jcheney10

    jcheney10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    43
    5
    16
    Temple, TX
    What is the most complete rom available, im debating on wether to Root my 2.2 or not, so far teh roms I have looked at are missing something like Cyanogen does not have Wimax. Some dont let the camera go above 3mp. The only thing I really want is the ability to wireless tether but I dont want to give up a working phone for that. So what is the most complete rom build out there that allows full functionality of the phone and wireless tether?
     

    Advertisement

  2. chiyex

    chiyex Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Do like me.just downgrade to 2.1 and you are back to using your free Sprint hotspot without need for root.your Pandora will even sound way better than 2.2.
     
  3. jcheney10

    jcheney10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    43
    5
    16
    Temple, TX
    before I got the Froyo update I was still getting the error 67 message with stock 2.1. Anybody else confirm this is working with the downgraDE?
     
  4. uminchu

    uminchu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    525
    134
    93
    That's such a loaded question. There are so many choices; you'll get differing answers and opinions, and most of them will be correct.

    Stock rooted, Fresh 3.x, DamgeControl 3.5, Baked Snack 1.5 have all worked well for me. Please do not take that to mean that those are the only ROMs that will work for you. They are simply ROMS I've tried myself that satisfy your question.

    PS - About the camera, read all the OPs carefully. Sometimes the phone says 3mp, but you're actually getting 8.
     
  5. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    Mmmmmmmm Sprint Hotspots is not free unless u r rooted even with 2.1.
     
  6. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    How do you down grade? Link plz and thanks
     
  7. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    RoboMonkey likes this.
  8. chiyex

    chiyex Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Hotspot has always been free on 2.1._I just downgraded gain and I am back using it for free.u get that Error on your first few trials.mine works on one trial
     
  9. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    Only if u r rooted
     
  10. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
  11. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    Good!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...