1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root question about rooting the fascinate

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JediSamReye, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. JediSamReye

    JediSamReye Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    122
    3
    36
    I had an eris back in the day and i really enjoyed trying different roms on it and rooting it. I just got the fascinate and i want to do the same thing. I just have two quick questions, thanks so much

    -1 can i still update to 2.2 when it comes out? or at this point in time is something your stuck with
    -2 im not seeing roms for the fascinate do they make them specific for a phone or do they are all run on the hardware?

    The last thing is also is if there is an issue how do i revert back to stock? thanks very much
     

    Advertisement

  2. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-fa...-13-october-2010-4-07am-central-u-s-time.html
    That should link you to all your answers.
    Basically:
    1 yes you can update. As long as you have certain stock apps in place you can OTA. Otherwise if you unbloat a bunch you will have to manually do it but it will happen.
    2 Several ROM's here: Fascinate Android Development - xda-developers
    Back to stock is linked in the first link
     
    Halcyon likes this.
  3. JediSamReye

    JediSamReye Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    122
    3
    36
    So let me get this straight? i root it, then i do the nadroid backup and then i install clock work and then try the different roms? thats all?
     
  4. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Yup, when you put it that way its sounds quite simple doesnt it. Also you need to get ROM Manager from Market too. But yeah thats it
     
  5. JediSamReye

    JediSamReye Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    122
    3
    36
    So here is two other quick questions.

    1- is there a way i can do this without a usb cable? im on my laptop at my parents and i want this so bad

    2- So when i look in the guide and it says that croygen and clock work is not available for the fascinate is that incorrect.
     
  6. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    You must have a micro usb cable to root yes. Clockwork is available for the SF but not Cyanogen
     
  7. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    you'd need clockwork to make nandroids (so switch that order)
     
    Halcyon likes this.
  8. Halcyon

    Halcyon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010

    Oct 15, 2010
    236
    38
    43
    Seattle, WA
    Great info thx guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...