1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Question about Sense UI

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Brianm109, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. Brianm109

    Brianm109 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Jan 30, 2010
    91
    5
    16
    Kinda of new to this but why would someone want to disable Sense UI? What are the benefits?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Scynthetic78

    Scynthetic78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    210
    10
    38
    ND
    The only real reason I've heard for disabling it is that the phone runs faster without it. Some people say it didn't make a difference for them though.
     
  3. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    very marginal difference if any at all....not worth it IMO.
     
  4. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Some just like the look and feel of vanilla Android too. Not sure why you would get a phone with Sense if that is the case, but to each their own.
     
  5. Brianm109

    Brianm109 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Jan 30, 2010
    91
    5
    16
    Thanks guys and one vampire....:)
     
  6. davros

    davros Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    486
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    486
    15
    58
    Mr Mom, and when I do work, Screen Printer
    Central Mass
    i was useing openhome with 1.5 but i like the 2.1 sense UI. the only thing i really dont like about it is the phone button thats it
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    My phone does seem slightly less laggy with the normal home, but it is so marginal, and the usability is definitely not as good, to be worth it to me. I switched back to SenseUI.
     
  8. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    With 1.5 I only ran home, I had no need for 7 screens 3 was perfect, the phone wasn't any faster but my dialer and on screen send/end buttons reacted better.

    Since I upgraded to 2.1 I tried running Home and for whatever reasons some programs weren't showing up and it was very laggy so I am using home and just using 3 screens right now. My phone is working smoother then it ever has

    But I still am not the biggest Sense UI fan , just my home isn't working all that great for me right now
     
  9. dewalist

    dewalist Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    258
    21
    38
    Connecticut
    I was looking for a "dock" functionality that Sense doesn't offer. I tried dxTop and was blown away with how natural the diamond layout works compared to the linear layout that Sense uses. Sense does look more polished, but dxTop is far more efficient and functional. IMHO, anyway...
     

Share This Page

Loading...