1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Question about using UK S2 in USA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kawada, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. kawada

    kawada Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011

    Oct 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi there, just a quick question from a complete newbie. I'm living in England at the moment and want to get a new phone and have picked the Samsung Galaxy S2 as my phone of choice. However i'm moving to Ohio in April and i'm just worried that if i buy an unlocked headset now (planning on using the giffgaff deal for it til i leave) that i won't be able to use it in America and find a network to use it with.

    So if i buy the phone here in the UK will i be able to use it when i move to the US?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Scainer

    Scainer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    38
    12
    18
    Was in the US a few months back and bought a PAYG phone (T-mobile) that used a sim card from Target for about $33.
    It worked fine but probably cost me more money than if i had just used my own sim.
     
  3. 3waygeek

    3waygeek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    May 8, 2011

    May 8, 2011
    164
    32
    43
    Yes, if you go with AT&T. T-Mobile in the US uses the AWS 1700/2100 MHz band for 3G/4G, which the international SGS2 doesn't support, so you'd be stuck with Edge. I've been using a Spanish SGS2 on AT&T since May, with no problems at all.

    The other two big US carriers, Sprint & Verizon, are CDMA, so they won't work at all with the SGS2.
     
  4. bluejava2

    bluejava2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011

    Oct 17, 2011
    15
    0
    25
    Male
    Sacramento, CA
    I bought the S2 in London last month and am using T-Mobile. Yes, I am getting EDGE speeds, which I why I am looking to move to a MVNO that uses the AT&T network, like H2O Wireless or Fuzion Mobile. I should be able to get 3G speeds on their network using the S2.
     

Share This Page

Loading...