1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Question about volume settings on MotoX

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by amlothi, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    I'm disappointed in the number of volume sliders (only 3) available on the MotoX. For example, there doesn't appear to be a way to set a different volume level for notifications vs ring tones on this device (as I could on my previous phone). Does anyone know how to do this?

    Second, has anyone determined which volume controls the loudness of the Google Now voice? It always seems to be too loud no matter what I have my volume set at.

    Third, I'm having an issue while connected to bluetooth in my car. Music audio goes through the car's audio system, but the navigation voice prompts come out of the phone speaker. With my previous phone, both went through the car's audio - so I don't think it's the car that's creating the problem.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I found Android volume controls to be one of the most confusing aspects of the environment. I then discovered ... Volume Control + Pro ... and it gave me control of them.

    I am using it on a Droid X, Droid Bionic, and Droid Maxx. The screenshot shows it on the Droid Maxx.

    I think it might help.

    ... Thom
     

    Attached Files:

  3. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    Thanks Thorn, but unless that app actually creates additional volume settings in the system (as opposed to allowing easy access to them) it won't work. I've tried using Tasker to set various volumes - but it appears that the only volume settings that the phone recognizes are Alarm, Ringtone, and Media.

    For example, if I change the Ringtone volume using tasker it changes the Ringtone volume on the phone. (Which is good...) However, if I change the Notification volume using tasker, it also changes the Ringtone volume on the phone. They appear to be linked somewhere, so I can't change them independently on the Moto X even with a 3rd party app.

    Changing other items (like System volume) have no effect.
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I don't have a Moto X to try it on. I showed you the app on the Droid Maxx. There is also a free version of the app.

    You might (or might not) give it a try and see if it helps you zero in on the issue.

    You could also consider running in Safe Mode (disabling all apps you added without uninstalling them) and see if the issues go away. If they do then they are caused by an app you added.

    ... Thom
     
  5. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    I also have a droid Maxx, and in settings, sound, volumes, there are separate sliders for ringtones and notifications.

    This is unusual, apparently, with a post gingerbread phone, as when I use llama to create separate sound profiles for each it warns me that it will not work on android 4.x. It seems that ICS unified the two volumes so they could not be changed separately. Perhaps Tasker doesn't even try with android 4.x?

    So, do you not have separate sliders in sound settings on the Moto X? That's an unusual divergence between the X and the new Droid series.

    Also, Llama did work to change the ringtone and notification volumes discretely when I tried it, despite the warning, so, if Tasker won't work, see if llama will.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Check out "ICS+ Enhanced Ringer Control"

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.brianhislop.icsringervolume

    This app runs its own special service to restore the feature removed in ICS and above.

    Not sure, the one Thom listed may be also.

    It's not about taskers or schedulers, that approach is *usually* the *only* way to get separate ringtone and notification volumes in ICS and above, shy of a custom rom with the feature added back in at a very low level.

    Hope this helps. :)
     
    lowvolt and alostpacket like this.
  7. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    Wondering if anyone has advice for my other 2 questions. Thanks!

     
  8. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,971
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,971
    3,604
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    For Google now you can control how often it speaks at least -- though, that's not exactly what you're looking for. :( ....I always found it kinda quiet actually, heh.

    For bluetooth what music app are you using?

    I would say maybe play around with your car's settings and try weird combos (like putting it in AUX/MP3 mode or some other mode that makes no sense) and see if that changes anything.

    Unfortunately Bluetooth is a pain-in-the-rear protocol and it's possible that an app is connecting on a specific BT profile and not mixing the audio before sending it to the car.

    It seems there might be SYNC setting in the main BT settings on the phone too, might be worth a look/fiddle.
     
  9. Convert2

    Convert2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012

    Nov 17, 2012
    11
    2
    16
    I had better luck using the app Sound Profile:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=Orion.Soft
     

Share This Page

Loading...