1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Question for someone who upgraded to Froyo using the RUU

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Puppa, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. Puppa

    Puppa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    320
    93
    73
    Linux kernel development, Android & Chrome
    Raleigh, NC
    ***Froyo RUU upgraders only, please***
    Could you please go to...
    Home->Settings->Applications->Manage Applications and select the "All" tab and scroll down to find the "Field Test" app and check the version.

    Mine, FYI, (upgraded to Froyo via the OTA upgrade), reports
    "version 2.1->update1"

    Looks like a leftover.
    No problems, but just hacking around and found this curious.
     

    Advertisement

  2. oman321

    oman321 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    61
    6
    36
    I did the RUU and just checked says the same thing as yours. Any idea what it is?
     
    Puppa likes this.
  3. Puppa

    Puppa Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    320
    93
    73
    Linux kernel development, Android & Chrome
    Raleigh, NC
    No idea what it does at all. I do know, however, that if you force close it, it'll restart your phone process. Guess this one was a carry-over. There's another app called "Field Trial" that's Froyo-versioned right next to it in the list.

    It is a curious name, though.
     
  4. oman321

    oman321 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    61
    6
    36
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I believe it's the app behind the "hidden menu" network diagnostics. Enter *#*#7262626#*#* in the dialer to access. Good luck understanding anything unless you're a rocket scientist however.
     
    Puppa likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...