1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Question for those using ADW EX.

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Hand76, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Still using ADW EX even though it is really not being updated much anymore.

    But I have a question, under "Icons" has anyone been able to get the "Icon Highlight Color" set to clear?

    I used to be able to do this in regular ADW, but when I set the alpha bar all the way to the left now (for clear) it comes out as a dark green or orange box around the app when I click on it.

    Im guessing this is just broken but I find it annoying because I made my icons smaller in size and the Icon Highlight Color box is so big I just don't want to see it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,862
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,862
    30,550
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I went to menu>more>ADW settings>UI settings>Icons>Highlights press color and slid the alpha bar to the left and the selections became 100% transparent for me.

    Nexus One with 2.3.4
     
  3. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    In ADW EX?

    Cause even though it shows in settings it should be transparent, when I actually go back and click an app I get a dark bright green or orange color. In fact if if I pick (lets say) the color blue, after sliding the alpha bar half way down and going back to click an app the color is not the same (not even blue) as what I accepted.

    Not as if it should matter but what color did you have it on before setting the alpha bar all the way to the left?

    I am on a rooted Incredible (again shouldn't matter) but I wonder if the phone or theme I am using has anything to do with it.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,862
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,862
    30,550
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    This might seem rudimentary and sorry if it's a tad insulting but after you set the alpha slider, are you remembering to press the center of the color wheel to accept the setting?
     
  5. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    lol no prob man I just appreciate your help, and yes I set the bar all the way to the left, press the middle circle, go back and bam nothing...well not nothing like it should be but an actual bright color.

    [Edit] Just tried it again, was on all black #ff000000 set alpha bar all the way to the left #00000000, pressed the middle circle, go back to my desktop (ADW EX redraws everything) and when I click an app I get a bright green block. :(
     
  6. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Just one last thing (that really boggles my mind) is I can set fantsy backrounds to be transparent by moving the alpha bar to the left. So it's working right there just not in backround icon highlights for me. :thinking: I wish there was an option just to turn it off so I don't even have to set it to clear.
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,862
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,862
    30,550
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    There's a setting to turn on and off new icons. Don't know if this effects the alpha channel though. I'd check it out but i've had a few adult beverages so i wouldn't trust my judgement this evening. ;)
     
  8. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    lol tried that out already and no go...BUT there is a glimmer of hope...I just went to profiles and set the defualt one and the Icon Highlight Color works! :D

    Now switching back to my old saved profile to check...
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    ...and still no go. lol BUT I now know another setting must be intefering with this one. So I have to play with it till I figure it out.
     
  9. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    34,862
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    34,862
    30,550
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Hope you figure it out before I finish my next martini ;)
     
  10. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hahahaha K got it...Kinda. Looks like it's my theme that is causing conflict which is weird since I was using the official ADW black theme by Ander Web, but perhaps that was not updated to work well with my current version of ADW EX.

    Anyway the puzzle has been solved thanks again dude, cause I honestly thought this was just a bug since the release of ADW EX. Enjoy the rest of your night and don't black out!
     

Share This Page

Loading...