1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Question for those using Easy Answer Button or My Phone Tools

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dbrits, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. dbrits

    dbrits Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Southern California
    The one thing which I hate about Sense is the ridiculous swipe to answer feature when the phone is locked, so in my search to fix this problem, I found Easy Answer Button and My Phone Tools. I used both but with limited success. It seems that with either one of those apps installed, I would constantly miss calls. The phone simply wouldn't ring and/or vibrate.

    I have my phone set to ring and vibrate when I receive calls. When using My Phone Tools, the first few seconds of the ringtone would play, and then it would be stop abruptly. With Easy Answer Button, the results were even worse: I would receive a call and the phone would not ring or vibrate. Of course, this didn't happen every time I received a call. But, when using these apps, a day didn't go by where I didn't miss a call because my phone simply didn't ring.

    For those Incredible owners who have used either one of these apps, I'm wondering about your experience with them. Have you experience a similar problem with your phone not ringing/vibrating? I'm trying to determine whether or not it's just me or another app I have installed on my phone. It's been a day since I uninstalled Easy Answer Button, and I have yet to miss a call. This leads me to believe that it's one of those two apps.

    Also, are there any other apps out there with a similar functionality? I'm currently running stock 2.2 (rooted, s-off), and not too interested in running stock vanilla. But I am wondering what other options to the slide to answer feature are out there.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Musky

    Musky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,848
    376
    173
    Male
    Computer Tech
    San Diego
    Bump for this, I've been looking for something like this also!
     
  3. dbrits

    dbrits Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Southern California
    I did a little testing with and without Easy Answer Button and here is what I found:

    While using Easy Answer Button, I was actually able to recreate a scenario where the phone would not ring or vibrate. If there was no interaction with the phone - no texts, calls, notifications; absolutely nothing at all - for twenty to thirty minutes, upon receiving a phone call, the phone wouldn't ring. This didn't happen every single time, but a majority of the time. The ringtone being used - stock or custom - and the location of the ringtone - internal memory or the microSD card - made no difference.

    After uninstalling Easy Answer Button, the phone would ring after thirty minutes without interaction. Again, the type and location of the ringtone didn't matter: The phone still rang.

    That being said, my original question still stands: What can be done to get rid of that horrible slide-to-answer screen? I hate it with a passion. Hate hate hate hate HATE. :-/ Is using a custom ROM the only answer?
     
  4. JCimp

    JCimp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I use WidgetLocker, which gives you the answer/decline buttons, if you don't mind a new lock screen.
     
  5. weihl165

    weihl165 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    296
    14
    38
    Keeping an eye on this thread. My gf has had the same problem with easy answer, I just assumed it was a bug in her phone
     
  6. dbrits

    dbrits Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Southern California
    Would you mind sharing your secret? How do you use WidgetLocker to answer calls? I already use it, and I've rummaged through the setting with no luck.

    EDIT: Never mind. I found my answer in the WidgetLocker thread:
    Sadly, this isn't the functionality I was hoping for. I really don't want to go through the hassle of unlocking the phone before I can answer it, least of all be able to see who is calling. Thanks all the same for the suggestion.

    For the longest time, I thought it was just my phone too. The problem sucks, but I'm glad to know it's not just me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...