1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Question of sbf

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by darkcyber, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    Ok, something I am not completely clear on. If I jump into GB and then revert back via sbf, does sbf completely wipe my phone and put it completely back to like it came out of the box? i.e. erase any and all root, superuser stuff and the whole 9 yards?

    If I sbf, then I will be back on Froyo...unrooted...correct?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1,493
    336
    163
    Maryland
    yes and yes.
    make a nandroid of what you have now in case you ever want to flash back for some reason, then you can SBF, reroot and install your backup
     
    darkcyber likes this.
  3. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Just remember that the nandroid you make before you SBF is only supported by your current OS i.e. .588
     
    darkcyber likes this.
  4. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    sbf will not completely wipe data unless you do a factory reset afterwards
     
    darkcyber and alprazolam like this.
  5. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    No, it doesn't.

    SBF only replaces /system, the kernel, and the radio. It does not wipe user data or cache at all.

    You have to factory reset to lose the cache and user data - SBF + factory reset = stock phone. You can SBF to your heart's content and never lose user data.
     
    alprazolam likes this.
  6. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    I would have instinctively said yes as well even though I know that I've sbf'ed and had to go in and factory reset. I guess you just get used to doing both together and you forget that sbf is not a data wipe. Thanks for this!

    Edit: forgot to properly thank Gmenfan as well.
     
    gmenfan83 likes this.
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Also, I think you have to manually replace a boot logo - not the droid eye, because that comes with the SBF, but the Motorola "M" logo at startup. I'm not sure where that's stored but I'm pretty sure SBF + factory reset won't change it if it's been replaced by a ROM like Liberty.
     
  8. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    The biggest thing is because people are used to using the SBF to switch Android versions - i.e. you go from GB back to FroYo, or when the FroYo leak was out, it was used to switch back to Eclair - so you have to factory reset.

    But if you take your FroYo phone, and SBF it, you'll just boot into FroYo again with all of your user data intact.
     
  9. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    funny you sat this because before i went to gb after i sbfed to .340 i still had my custom bootanimation and logo, then as soon a s i did a factory reset they went back to stock, but in the past i have had to manually change them after sbfing even a data wipe wouldn't help as we have always thought, weird stuff has been going on with gb and sbf though
     
  10. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    Ahhh, so doing an sbf puts me back to Froyo stock and unrooted with user data intact from my previous rooted version. So, then the only way to erase the user data is to then root the phone again and then use CWR and do the factory reset and wipe? Can you do a factory reset and wipe without being rooted..maybe that is the better question? :D

    Also, would restoring a nandroid backup (I have a ton of them, make one after I install each rom) wipe the user data and stuff or does it have to be a factory reset and wipe?
     
  11. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    You can go into the factory recovery by powering the phone off, then holding the menu hard key and power. When you get the triangle and droid, hold down both volume keys. That will put you into recovery where you can wipe data and cache.

    As for nandroid, it will take you back to the exact state of your ROM when you backed it up. If you did a nandroid as soon as you loaded 2.3.340, for instance, you can do a restore from any ROM in Froyo and go back to that clean install that you did.
     
    darkcyber likes this.
  12. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Right, and that includes all of your user data as well. A nandroid is a snapshot of your phone's state.

    Keep in mind, you're limited to restoring nandroids of the Android version your phone is on - i.e. no restoring a Gingerbread nandroid if your phone is on FroYo.
     
    darkcyber and alprazolam like this.
  13. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1,493
    336
    163
    Maryland
    actually thats exactly what I did. sorry if I caused any confusion. I have ALWAYS done the wipe after SBF no matter what (just felt safer that way I guess lol) and didnt even think about not doing the wipe would keep your user data
     
  14. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010


    No problem, I have always done this as well and never had an issue, I would still love to know why sbfing from gb sends our devices into bootloops etc., a wipe is an easy fix but still wonder why this happens
     
  15. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    It's pretty simple. Your user data created in gingerbread (which includes boot-time information and configuration) is incompatible with FroYo.

    Same as if you tried to, say, import a registry from Windows XP and use it in Windows 7. Or if you tried to use timings from a different car on your car. It's trying to boot with information it doesn't know how to handle.
     
    gmenfan83 and darkcyber like this.
  16. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    I made a clean stock nandroid backup, first thing I did after I rooted. So, I have a clean backup as close to stock as possible (minus the root of course) and then I made a backup after each rom I installed...so I can switch to any of them pretty easily.
     
  17. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010


    Makes sense, thanks Binary
     

Share This Page

Loading...