1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Question regarding memory card

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rronald25, Aug 30, 2012.

  1. rronald25

    rronald25 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,386
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012

    Aug 25, 2012
    57
    4
    16
    Male
    Amsterdam
    So, as I read on the forum that 64gb is working well with note, was wondering if its better for me to use 1 x 64gb or 2 x 32gb?

    The reason is because I am going to use my note for entertainment (most of the times), so i will put all of my music +- 30ish gb on the 1st card (and wont write and erase that often), then the 2nd card would be for videos & pictures which I think the contents will be depending where I am travelling (meaning I will have to write & erase the content of this card quite often).

    The thing is im afraid by doing so, it will make note or the card soon will not work preperly (at least this is my understanding as I am not a gadget guy)

    So would be great if someone can help me decide

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bodestone

    Bodestone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012

    Jan 17, 2012
    387
    68
    53
    The number of reads and writes before the card degrades to the point of data loss is huge. You would have to be adding and deleting files every couple of minutes for a few years.
     
  3. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    I've got a 64gb card in my note. You get 59gb once it's formatted. Personally I'd get a 64gb card. Having to continuously take the back off the phone and take the battery out just to change cards would annoy me eventually.
     
  4. Bodestone

    Bodestone Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012

    Jan 17, 2012
    387
    68
    53
    That's because they cheat and use 1000 bytes instead of 1024 bytes for a gigabyte when they tell you how big it is.
     
  5. rronald25

    rronald25 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1,386
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012

    Aug 25, 2012
    57
    4
    16
    Male
    Amsterdam
    Yeah you are all right. I think i will just use 1x 64g. Like Bodestoen says, I dont think the card will be damage due to writes & erases within 2 years anyway, and since I might use otterbox, I think it will be annoying to take off the card everytime I want to watch video.
    Thanx
     
  6. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    Err nooo, it's because the file system is FAT32 which uses a file allocation table. The file allocation table is using the remaining space.
     

Share This Page

Loading...