1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Question] Safe overclocking freq for m835?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AesopRock, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. AesopRock

    AesopRock Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    31
    2
    16
    Im looking for a "safe" range for this particular phone. Any help would be greatly appreciated. i do not wish to destroy my phone lol....

    Im using Rom toolbox pro 3.1.2 if that matters..... Like rom manager with more options is there a better app to OC? Thanks in Advance
    Aesop
     

    Advertisement

  2. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    normally most ppl just try the settings out til the phone isnt stable then set it to a lower setting. Really hard to damage the phone since if the oc is set to high for it to handle it will just reboot. And if you have it set to set at reboot it will bootloop and you'll have to wipe data to get it to boot then.

    With the stock kernel you're not gonna be able to set the oc higher than 600.
     
    DemonMonk and AesopRock like this.
  3. AesopRock

    AesopRock Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    31
    2
    16
    Thanks for the answer i think that helped me decide to just leave it alone since i am running stock , im going to try your modded stock Mate5 i found on another site here in a minute.
    /close?
     
  4. Apocalypz

    Apocalypz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    13
    1
    16
    IT
    NYC
    I'm running Playful's CM7 with the CPU governor set to performance and Minimun CPU clock at 633 and Max. CPU clock at 710. No issues so far, nor do I feel it overly warm. Haven't tried any YouTube videos or anything too CPU intensive, but so far no crashes or reboots so I'm good.
     
    AesopRock likes this.
  5. AesopRock

    AesopRock Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    31
    2
    16
    Thanks for the response
    Question: Did you somehow get the wifi to work on PG's CM7 port?!
    EDIT: im also looking for a good vm heapsize...
     
  6. AesopRock

    AesopRock Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    31
    2
    16
    BUMP anyone know the vm heapsize i should use for a stock rom?
     
  7. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Toke tested it out @32 and said it was good there.
     
    AesopRock likes this.
  8. AesopRock

    AesopRock Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    31
    2
    16
    Ok im now running CM7 what can i use for max and min settings on that and should i keep the heapsize at 32?
     
  9. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Best way is to try n see which settings work for you as your phone my differ for others. For min I would set it @245Mhz, max 710 will prolly work fine.
     
    patsfann likes this.
  10. bowlindad

    bowlindad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I have cm7.2 on my m835 and my wifi and camera is not working. what can I do to fix this?
     
  11. EManU3LXX

    EManU3LXX Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Camera App or camera all together?
     
  12. Bowlsnapper

    Bowlsnapper Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Uh, am I missing something? Since when has the m835 been overclockable? and HOW!? WTF?
     
  13. DerekElensar

    DerekElensar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    104
    9
    36
    Soundboard Technician
    Grand Rapids, MI
    they're running a custom ROM ;)
     
  14. dharp1996

    dharp1996 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012

    Jun 16, 2012
    288
    28
    43
    Male
    Dallas, Texas
    How are you guys overclocking!!!!! I just get a blank window with cancel on it and im using cm7!!!!!!

    Edit:Yeah thats alright I got it
     
  15. nu2moding

    nu2moding Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    190
    20
    58
    .flashing ideos u8150 kernels is how i got a2sd,oc, multitouch n wifi tethering working
    my particular device was stable @729, but could go up to 800+ b4 boot looping
     
  16. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #120
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,698
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,698
    664
    233
    MA
    You have a link to that kernel?
     
  17. nu2moding

    nu2moding Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    190
    20
    58
    androidforums.com/u8150-ideos-all-things-root/355082-rom-wp7_ideos-fleet.html#post2822335
    w/p 7 ideos rom I used.
    its in Italian, n I think links are dead, but Google is ur friend
     
  18. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #120
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,698
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,698
    664
    233
    MA
    Every link and every search on Google comes up empty. Nobody hosts that file anymore I guess. Do you still have the zip file for that ROM?
     
  19. nu2moding

    nu2moding Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    190
    20
    58
    its on the device.
    i don't have it anymore :(
    it was pretty bad-ass n on Android assistant, said CDMa and GSM support.
    synaptics touch n oc up to 760+ but stable @726

    look for my vid
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...