1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Questions about APK security

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by WeAreNotAlone, Sep 8, 2011.

1. WeAreNotAlone

WeAreNotAlone Newbie

Couple of ideas/concerns (I'm new to all this Android stuff so don't kill the messenger.)

1: While not needed per-se on the Marketplace I think that the HASH VALUES of the programs /*apk file should be PUBLISHED.

A small detail such as this:
    A: Protects the "good name" of the program/author and those using that app in the long run. Each hash is unique and with the hash value in hand you can be assured nothing "extra" has been added to the code.
    (Yes you are supposed to download thru the marketplace, but in the real world those needing a app- might get it thru other sources. If the app causes problems- Persons will badmouth the app/author..)

B: Published hash value helps those searching for a app that has been discontinued, with the hash value in hand- you might find it somewhere and can be assured the file is the same file that would have come directly from the author.
    (Such can also transfer someone looking directly to authors site/download link for those apps with similar file names)

2: Permissions: Seems like the whole Android OS, and the apps are on a gigantic data mining operation.
    (Makes me want to go back to dumb phone, maybe Windows Mobile 6.5?)
    What are the best ways change permissions of apps after they are installed?

(I just saw the reference to PocketPermissions -will check it out.)

Q: Are there manual and permanent edits that can be done, or some type of proxy? app that gives those apps false info? I'm new to this Android stuff but the data being collected is all encompassing.