1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

questions about cyanogenmod 7 and overclocking

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chanswer, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. chanswer

    chanswer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    whats up friends

    running cyanogenmod 7 nightly 21. works well. but i have a question about overclocking....

    with cm7 i notice the settings for overclocking in CM settings menu.

    Which one of these are best? Ondemand...blah blah blah.

    Further....will installing a overclocking app help at all? I tried overclocking widget but idk how well it's really helping out....can't tell a real difference. please help..this is pissing me off!

    ONE MORE THING!

    Is anyone else having huge battery issues lately? Plugged in for 2 hrs at times (car and AC) and only shows I have a 15% charge. Should I update the rom, or is that even addressed in any of the newer builds?

    Thanks fellas.

    annddd before yall freak on me about posting it twice...my bad! the one i posted on originally is gsm hero thread....i think.
    :cool:
     

    Advertisement

  2. paully

    paully Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    160
    24
    58
    Male
    Service Manager
    Norman, OK
    from what i've read the default 'interactive' is the way to go. it has the quickest and most consistent ramp up when needed.

    there may be some benefit to running a 'setcpu' (or equivalent) in addition to the rom's cpu control, especially if you're having battery troubles. you can use profiles to limit your upper threshold in certain instances. e.g. if below say 20% battery, you want to throttle back on overclocking and set the upper cpu limit to 400MHz or something to save some power.

    having said that, your battery woe's may be correctable. andygu3's write up was for aosp v9.9.2, but the battery set up part i think is for ROM flashing in general and may work for you...
    http://androidforums.com/sprint-hero-all-things-root/233990-setting-up-aosp.html
     
  3. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    I use On Demand for the scaling setting with the SetCPU widget. The benefit of the SetCPU widget is the profiles that you can set while your handset is asleep, awake, or what battery charge or temperature it is at.

    Your Sprint HTC Hero may struggle to charge if you are doing a lot at once with it. For example, if you are using the GPS, with the screen on, it may not charge quickly, if at all.
     
  4. chanswer

    chanswer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    hopefully setcpu becomes free in amazon soon. lol. is there a free version in android market? that doesnt have a ton of bs access to your phone/contacts/info/blood type/credit score?
     
  5. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    I highly doubt that SetCPU widget will be free anytime soon, unfortunately. It is worth the money, in my opinion.

    You could also try Overclock widget, which is free: OverclockWidget (Need Root) ~ Android Application v3.30 By Billy Cui | Libraries & Demo .
     
  6. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
  7. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
  8. paully

    paully Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    160
    24
    58
    Male
    Service Manager
    Norman, OK
    i've not set it up for 2.3 yet (but i will right now ;)).

    when i was running 2.2, i noticed a huge leap in battery life by setting up the following profiles:

    screen off, max cpu 264MHz, priority 100%
    batt < 19%, max cpu 480MhZ, priority 75%
    batt > 50C, max cpu 512MHz, priority 50%

    otherwise max cpu was at 768MHz with 'interactive' scaling on everything.
    although some Hero phones just don't jive with a max 768MHz for some reason. if you set it that high and notice lagginess or odd force closings, then bump it down to a max of 691MHz. this seems to be the consensus.

    totally worth the dollars and the developer deserves compensation for his work. in my opinion, the free market that is android will only continue to be this cool if we support the individuals who make cool stuff.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...